The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Last Published: April 14, 2016
Boston Weather: 39.0°F | Fair

Photos by Sam Range

Edwin H. Blashfield (Brooklyn, New York, 1848 – 1936), Walker Memorial Mural. Painting. Walker Memorial (Bldg. 50).

Harry Bertoia (Italy, 1915 - 1978, Barto, Pennsylvania), Altarpiece for MIT Chapel). Brazed steel. MIT Chapel (Bldg. W15).

Sol LeWitt (Hartford, Connecticut), Bar of Color within Squares. Terrazzo floor. Green Center for Physics (Bldg. 6C). Commissioned with MIT Percent for Art Fund.

Auguste Rodin (France, 1840 – 1917), Large Head of Iris (Grosse Tête d’Iris). Bronze. Hayden Library, 2nd floor (Bldg. 14S), Humanities Library. Rodin best known for his mastery of the human form, as in his famous sculptures The Thinker and The Gates of Hell.

Alexander Calder (Piladelphia, Pennsylvania, 1898 – 1976, New York, New York), La Grande Voile (The Big Sail). Painted steel. McDermott Court. Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Eugene McDermott. Standing at a soaring height of 40 ft and weighing a massive 33 tons, La Grande Voile is perhaps one of MIT’s most iconic public art pieces.

Jacques Lipchitz (Lithuania, 1891 – 1973, Italy), Birth of the Muses. Bronze. Hayden Library (Bldg. 14W), west plaza. Gift of Yulia Lipchitz in Memory of Dr. Jerome B. Wisener.

Frank Stella (Malden, Massachusetts, 1936- ) Loohooloo. Acrylic on fiberglass. (Bldg. 7, 3rd floor), Wolk Gallery. Gift of Elliot K. Wolk, MIT Class of 1957.

Anish Kapoor (India, 1954 - ), Untitled (Sculpture for TSMC Lobby). Stainless steel. TSMC Lobby, Stata Center (Bldg, 32G). Commissioned with MIT Percent for Art Fund. Kapoor’s sculpture is MIT’s newest addition to it’s public art collection, installed this August. According to MIT curator Alise Upitis, the sculpture is 16 ft x 7 ft and weighs nearly 3500 lbs.

Henry Moore (United Kingdom, 1898 – 1986), Three-Piecde Reclining Figure, Draped. Bronze. Killian Court. Gift of the Eugene McDermott Family and Other Friends of MIT.

Cynthia Barnhart PhD ’88 is acting as the dean of the School of Engineering while the United States Senate decides whether to confirm Subra Suresh ScD ’81, the current dean, as the next director of the National Science Foundation. Suresh, who was nominated by President Obama in June, is on sabbatical as he awaits his confirmation.

<< First   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Last >>