The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Last Published: April 14, 2016
Boston Weather: 69.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Photos by Brian Hemond

Doria M. Holbrook ’08 against Wellesley College, Nov. 14.

Rohan Abeyaratne, the Quentin Berg Professor of Mechanics, is stepping down as the head of the Mechanical Engineering Department on July 1.

Noah S. Jessop ’09 is the Undergraduate Association President.

Brandon Russell G

Department of Chemistry graduate Ziliang “Carter” Lin ’08 wears a cap decorated with the chemical symbol for chlorine during this year’s Commencement ceremony, which was held June 6 on Killian Court. Several other students in the department wore caps bearing the symbols of different elements.

Members of the Class of 2008 celebrate their new-found freedom at the end of the Commencement ceremony by throwing their caps into the air at Killian Court. See pages 10–11 for more photographs from MIT’s 2008 Commencement Exercises.

Heavy rains during the night and in the early morning fill every seat with rain water. Much to everyone’s relief, the rain ended just before the faculty and graduates entered Killian Court for this year’s Commencement ceremony held June 6.

Helen H. Liang ’08 (left) and Wendi Li ’08 celebrate as they walk down off the stage after receiving their undergraduate degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. This year’s Commencement ceremony was held June 6 on Killian Court.

2008 Class President Phi Ho.

Graduate Student Council President Leeland B. Ekstrom.

<< First   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Last >>