The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Last Published: April 14, 2016
Boston Weather: 68.0°F | Overcast

Photos by Andrew T. Lukmann

Eric Abruzzi, an MIT subcontractor, replaces wiring and equipment damaged by a drain leak in Burton-Conner House. The leak knocked out both water and Internet service to the dormitory early this week.

Boston and Metropolitan Law Enforcement Council Police keep crowds at bay in Kenmore Square after the Red Sox overcame the Cleveland Indians in the American League Championship Series on Sunday night. The World Series will start on Wednesday night as the Sox face the Colorado Rockies at Fenway Park.

Dire Tune of Ethopia (right), winner of the 2008 Boston Marathon, and runner-up Alevtina Biktimirova of Russia run neck-and-neck down Commonwealth Avenue on Monday morning. Tune finished in 2:25:27, two seconds ahead of Biktimirova in the closest women’s final in the race’s history.

Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick and Secretary Ian Bowles respond to questions after a major environmental policy address in Kresge Auditorium on Tuesday commemorating Earth Day.

Khek-Khiang Chia G performs Prokofiev’s March, Op. 99 with the MIT Wind Ensemble in concert on Friday night.

Students relax in Killian Court on Monday afternoon at the MIT Spring Picnic celebrating the retirement of Dean for Student Life Larry G. Benedict.

Frederick Harris conducts the MIT Wind Ensemble during the world premiere of Windborn(e) by Gabriel SenaneS last Friday night.

Maria A. Frendberg ’11 strums the double bass during the world premiere of Windborn(e) by Gabriel SenaneS in the MIT Wind Ensemble’s concert on Friday night.

Matt Lavigne of The Name Changers rocks out on the drums and vocals during Zeta Beta Tau’s annual Battle of the Bands, held in the Lobdell dining room on Saturday evening. See page 11 for more photos from Campus Preview Weekend.

President Noah S. Jessop ’09, Vice President Michael A. Bennie ’10, Treasurer Riley E. Brandt ’11, and Secretary-General Ian P. Tracy ’11 are sworn in as the UA’s Executive Officers for the 2008-2009 academic year at the last UA Senate meeting of the term on Monday evening in W20-400.

<< First   1 | 2   Last >>