The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Last Published: April 14, 2016
Boston Weather: 72.0°F | A Few Clouds

Articles by Alexandra Delmore

December 6, 2013
Munther A. Dahleh has been named the acting director of the Engineering Systems Division (ESD). He began his new position on Dec. 1, stepping down from his previous position as Associate Department Head of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), which David J. Perreault has been appointed.
November 22, 2013
MIT Residential Life & Dining is planning to initiate gender-inclusive housing policies across campus, expanding upon the implementation of such a policy in Random Hall and Senior House. Students opting for gender-inclusive housing would be able to room with people of different genders and gender identities, which would be ideal for students who have preferences about the gender identities of their roommates.
November 15, 2013
The Undergraduate Giving Campaign (UGC) ended on Nov. 1, raising a total of $8674.82. The UGC collects donations from freshmen, sophomores, and juniors for one week per semester to fund Expedition Grants from MIT’s Public Service Center, which support undergraduate public service projects abroad.
October 25, 2013
Last week, Professor Peter H. Fisher was named the new head of the Department of Physics. His five-year term will begin on Nov. 15. Fisher succeeds Edmund Bertschinger who left his position as department head in July to become the Institute Community and Equity Officer. Since then, Thomas J. Greytak has been serving as an interim department head. Fisher has been a faculty member at MIT since 1994. He currently teaches 8.033, a course on special and general relativity.
October 8, 2013
The Undergraduate Association announced the results of the 2017 Class Council elections in an email to the class on Friday night, after a week of voting. The freshman class elected Liana R. Ilutzi ’17 as president, Sophia Liu ’17 as vice president, Pragya Tooteja ’17 as treasurer, Larkin V. Sayre ’17 as secretary, Frederick O. Daso ’17 and Nicole Lu ’17 as publicity chairs, an Evan C. “Charlie” Andrews-Jubelt ’17 and Mohamed H. Kane ’17 as social chairs.
September 20, 2013
MIT’s Vice President for Human Resources Alison Alden has announced her plans to retire in the spring of 2014. Alden began working at MIT in 2007 and has made substantial contributions to MIT’s HR department. Israel Ruiz, Executive Vice President and Treasurer, is “grateful to Alison for her seven years of exceptional service to MIT.”
<< First   1 | 2   Last >>