The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 49.0°F | Overcast
Priya Garg
MIT Dean of Engineering Ian A. Waitz presents the $30,000 Lemelson-MIT Collegiate Student Prize to winner Miles C. Barr PhD ’12. Barr invented a novel method of fabricating solar cells on everyday surfaces. Also pictured are finalists Uri Laserson G and Jay S. Silver SM ’08.
March 9, 2012
The Presidential Search Committee tasked with identifying a successor to President Susan J. Hockfield was announced yesterday afternoon, three weeks after Hockfield announced her resignation. The committee will consist of 10 faculty members and 12 members of the MIT Corporation, and will be chaired by James A. Champy ’63, who also led the committee that selected Hockfield. A Student Advisory Committee made up of three undergraduates and three graduate students will assist in the search, though they are not on the official Search Committee itself.
March 9, 2012
On Tuesday, the Undergraduate Association finally legitimized the new council by ratifying their constitution. The ratification comes after an extended deliberation period amongst the council members spanning two meetings over two weeks. The single biggest change made to the constitution at this meeting was to move text that enumerates the election proceedings (including the timeline and the ability to change them), to the election code in the bylaws. The constitution was passed unanimously after a brief discussion outlining this and other small changes. Immediately after, the bylaws were passed with only one vote against and one abstention.
March 9, 2012
A new fraternity may be coming to MIT. Alpha Sigma Phi, or “Alpha Sig,” the nation’s 10th oldest fraternity, has been trying to stake its claim as a colony among MIT’s current 24 existing chapters. Currently, it is attempting to recruit “founding fathers.”
March 9, 2012

More News

    Campus Life
    • Campus Life was not published this issue.