The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 61.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Equestrian Team Kicks Off Season

By Jenny Lee


Last Sunday, the MIT Equestrian Team headed down to Apple Knoll Farm in Millis, Massachusetts for the first competition of the season. The competition was hosted by Tufts University.

Only five members were able to make it to the Tufts competition and many of them competed in the same division. Two additional MIT equestrians, Junlin Ho ’01 and Jamie L. Whitehead ’04, were unable to attend due to illness and injury, respectively. Despite the sunny weather, the competition took place in the indoor arena because snow still blanketed the outdoors.

Kathryn A. Luke ’04 placed fifth in the open division over fences after drawing a difficult horse. Also riding open over fences was Kristen E. Landino ’02, who won a respectable third place.

Tara L. Mullaney ’02 took second place with a brilliant stroke of luck in her intermediate jumping class.

Competing for the first time since returning from a semester abroad in England, Jenny J. Lee ’02 placed fifth over fences in the intermediate division.

In the alumni division, Avi Rhodal won third place in her jumping class.

The flat phase of the competition took place in the afternoon. Rhodal placed fifth in alumni equitation after drawing an extremely slow horse. Landino and Luke both rode in the open division and placed fifth in their respective classes.

Lee made her debut in open equitation after pointing up from the intermediate category last April. However,an unfortunate horse draw left her with a sixth-place finish.

Mullaney drew the same horse as Rhodal for her intermediate flat class race, and also placed sixth.

This show brought Lee within three points of qualifying for Regionals in the intermediate over fences division. A rider must accrue 35 points in order to be eligible to participate in this competition.

Two MIT equestrians this year have already qualified for Regionals. Sara Etemadi ’01 will be riding in the advanced walk-trot-canter division, and Diana S. Cheng ’03 will compete in the walk-trot category.