The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 57.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Feldman Wins NEWMAC Title

By Roger Crosley


The MIT men’s cross country team captured its second straight New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference championship last weekend.

The Engineers were paced by Daniel R. Feldman ’02 who ran to first place and was named the NEWMAC Runner of the Year. He covered the 5.1 mile course in 25:17. Also named to the All-Conference team for finishing in the top 12 were Christopher S. McGuire ’00 (2nd), Edward A. Keehr ’01 (4th), Liyan Guo ’01 (5th), Sean J. Montgomery ’01 (9th), and Frank Johnston ’00 (11th).

The MIT water polo team is tied for fifth nationally in Division III in the latest weekly poll by College Water Polo Association. Three Engineers were named to the recently announced All-Tournament team from the Division III Eastern Tournament. Stefan K. Bewley ’01, Jeffrey J. Colton ’02, and James C. Brady ’03 each helped lead MIT to second place in the Eastern Region.

MIT quarterback David R. Skordal ’02 has been named to the weekly honor roll of the New England Football Conference. Skordal led the Engineers to a 27-7 victory over Worcester State College last Saturday. Skordal completed 8 of 16 passes for 173 yards and a 20-yard touchdown, and also ran the ball 16 times for 68 yards and a touchdown.

The MIT sailing teams continue to perform well. In last weekend’s regattas, the co-ed varsity team finished second overall and won the “A” Division of the Schell Trophy. After 16 races, Sean C. Fabre ’00 and Erin Shea ’02 finished 10 points ahead of their nearest competitors.

In the Victorian Urn Regatta, the MIT women finished fourth, but again the Engineers won the “A” Division. Jessica R. Lackey ’00 skippered the boat, while Nicole A. Spinello ’01 acted as crew.