The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 46.0°F | Mostly Cloudy and Breezy

Institute Honors Students, Faculty at Convocation

By Rima Arnaout

MIT celebrated outstanding students, faculty, and programs in many areas of achievement at the 1999 Awards Convocation ceremony.

Presiding over Wednesday’s event was Chancellor Lawrence S. Bacow ’72. The event “was MIT at its best and it made me proud to be a member of the community.”

The first awards presented were the William L. Stewart, Jr. Awards, which recognize students and student organizations for their contributions to extracurricular activities on campus.

Rita H. Lin ’00 received the award for her work on Charm School. Other recipients included Graduate Student Council president Brian J. Schneider G and Aaron D. Winthers ’99 for his work with the MIT Gospel Choir and the Black Christian Fellowship.

Ritu Gupta ’99 won the award for her dedication to health education at MIT, while Douglas E. Heimburger ’00 won the award for his work towards developing TechCalendar.

Nightline was presented with an award for its years of service to the community.

The Harold J. Pettegrove Award was given to Be A. Ware ’99 for his outstanding contributions to intramural athletics.

The Peter Bowl Award is given to a female senior who has shown leadership in intercollegiate athletics. It was given to Robin C. Evans ’99.

The Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award is for a male senior who has demonstrated leadership and humility in intercollegiate athletics. Ravi V. Sastry ’99 received the award.

The Betsy Schumacker Award was presented to Deirdre K. Dunn ’99 for excellence in an athletic competition.

Joel Morales ’99 was the recipient of the Howard W. Johnson Award, which recognizes the male senior athlete of the year.

The Malcolm G. Kispert Awards honor the male and female senior athletes of the year. It went to Victoria A. Best ’99 and Jason C. Miller ’99.

The James R. Killian, Jr. Community Service Award, recognizing the Interfraternity Council member organization that makes an outstanding contribution to community service, went to Phi Delta Theta.

Theta Chi received the Order of Omega New Member Education Award, given to the IFC member organization that has the most outstanding pledge program.

The Reid Wheedon ’41 Alumni Relations Award honors the IFC member organization that has promoted interaction between its members and its alumni. Delta Upsilon received the award.

The Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Awards recognize the contributions of one male and one female member of the IFC who have contributed to the IFC’s ideals of brotherhood and sisterhood. This year’s recipients were Duane H. Dreger ’99 and Katherine E. Hardacre ’99.

The Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement in MIT Education was presented to Senior Lecturer Peter A. Dourmashkin ’76 for his work with the Experimental Study Group. The award is given to a member of the MIT community to honor improvements to MIT education.

The Frank E. Perkins Award goes to the professor who has served as an excellent adviser and mentor to graduate students. This year’s award goes to Professor Markus Zahn, of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and to Professor Stephen Van Evera of Political Science.

The Graduate Student Council Teaching Award recognizes excellence in graduate teaching and was presented this year to Axel van de Walle G of the School of Engineering and Professor Neil A. Gershenfeld of the School of Architecture and Planning.

The Goodwin Medal is given to a graduate student for outstandingly effective teaching. Babak Ayazifar G of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Marc D. Paradis G of Brain and Cognitive Sciences won the award.

The Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching honors Assistant Professor Daniel Frey this year.

The Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes a faculty member from the School of Engineering for excellence in teaching. Professor Herbert H. Einstein of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering received the honor.

The Arthur C. Smith Award is given to the faculty member who has shown devotion to undergraduate affairs. It went to Associate Professor Patricia J. Culligan of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

The Kristen E. Finnegan Prize went to Saleem H. Ali G of the Department of Urban Studies and Planning for his contribution to wards improving the writing skills of undergraduates.

The Albert G. Hill Prize is awarded to minority undergraduates who have been committed to improving the quality of life for minorities at MIT. The award was presented to Dolores Cruz ’00 and Jason R. Dailey ’99.

The Laya W. Wiesner Award goes to an undergraduate woman who has done the most to improve community life at MIT. May K. Tse ’99 won the award.

The Association of MIT Alumnae Senior Academic Award was given this year to Lisa R. Kinder ’99 for demonstrating outstanding academic excellence.

The Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts goes to a senior who has shown excellence in music, theater, painting, sculpture, design, architecture, or film. The award was presented to Eto S. Otitigbe ’99.

The Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Awards recognize achievement in the creative or performing arts and were presented to Petra S. Chong ’99, Matthew J. Hanna ’99, and Julie A. Park ’99.

The Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize in the Visual Arts is given to MIT students who demonstrate excellence in creating a body of work in the visual arts. Richard R. Fletcher G, Matthew D. Hollingworth G, and Vince E. Carballo ’00 won the prize.

The Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service went to Jennifer A. Kelly ’99 for showing leadership in promoting social change.

The James N. Murphy Award honors dedicated employees of MIT. Daniel T. Engelhardt from the Office of Academic Services and Carol Phillips of the Chemical Engineering Department won the award.

The Gordon Y. Billard Award is presented to members of MIT faculty and staff for special services to the Institute. The award was given to long-time Concert Band Conductor John D. Corley, Jr., Professor of Management Stephen C. Graves, and Social Worker Dawn C. Metcalf.

The Karl Taylor Compton Prize honors students or student groups for extended contributions in promoting service and high standards at MIT. The Compton Prize is the highest award given to an MIT student. Van L. Chu ’99 won for her commitment to student activities. Maisha K. Gray ’99 was honored with the prize for her work with the minority community at MIT. Jeremy D. Sher ’99 won for his contributions to the Undergraduate Association and Institute Committees.