The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 16.0°F | Fair

Michael Trupiano Elected as IFC President

By Frank Dabek
News Editor

Michael Trupiano '00 was elected the new Interfraternity Council president at its Wednesday's president's council meeting, along with the rest of the council's nine officers.

Trupiano, who was elected unanimously after Christopher R. Rezek '99 declined his nomination at the meeting, said that was he was excited about his new post and was "looking forward to working with the group and the administration in the coming year." All those elected will formally take office in February. Trupiano is a member of Lambda Chi Alpha.

During his tenure as president, Trupiano expects to focus on the IFC's response to President Charles M. Vest's decision to house all freshmen on campus in 2001. Within the IFC he hopes to increase "IFC pride and unity" by "fostering a sense of pride and community" within the group and in the larger Institute community. Trupiano said that the IFChas an important role to play in the greater MITcommunity.

Outgoing IFC president Duane H. Dreger '99 said that, "I'm quite pleased with [the new officers.] Mike has been doing quite a bit of work with the IFC implementation committee on freshmen on campus."

Others work for accountability

Benjamin K. Chun '00, who was elected to the office of VicePresident of Internal Affairs said the "IFC has become more visible and active in the last semester." He hopes that the IFC will "become more self-aware and self-policing" during his term. The IFC "has to take responsibility and accountability," he said. Chun is a member of DeltaUpsilon

Mimi Y. Su '00, a member of Alpha Chi Omega, will be the IFC's new treasurer. She said that the newly elected officers "can all work together and have a strong presence on campus."

Damien B. Brosnan '01 was elected Risk Management Chair. He hopes implement "feedback on a house to house basis" and build greater consensus when formulating new risk management policy.

The remaining new officers, who could not be reached for comment, included Amir A. Mesarwi '00 of Phi Delta Theta, who was elected Vice President of Internal Affairs, and Ryan S. Barrows '01 of Alpha Tau Omega who becomes IFC Secretary. Patrick D. Kremer '00, a brother at Theta Delta Chi, will be the next Judicial Committee chair. The new Public Relations Chair is Vicki Lin '01, a member of Alpha Phi. Joseph A. Cirello '01 of Phi Sigma Kappa will serve as Community Relations Chair.

Freshmen housing a focus

Trupiano acknowledged that Vest's decision to house all freshmen on campus by 2001 will be a day to day issue for his presidency. His work on the IFC's working group on freshmen on campus in 2001 makes him already familiar with the issues involved.

Trupiano said that the IFC"focus is really to maintain a two-tiered approach" where the group will be involved both in working with the groups planning implementation strategies and at the same time opposing the decisions.

The IFC is working on implementation because they "don't want to be left out" of the planning process in case the decision is not reversed. However, he said, "we're still moving forward on both fronts."