The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 21.0°F | Overcast

MIT Women's Team Wins Air Pistol Title

By Roger F. Crosley
Director of Sports Information

Tracey Ho '99 recently won the National Rifle Association individual championship in Women's Air Pistol and helped MIT to the team air pistol title along with teammates Hattie Gruneisen '00 and Jane Sohn '98. All three women were named to the inaugural Women's All-America team, which was selected following the championships at the Wolf Creek Olympic Shooting Park in Georgia. Ho scored a 91.4 out of a possible 109 in the final round to take the title over two shooters from the U.S. Naval Academy and a competitor from the U.S. Military Academy.

Swimmer and chemical engineer major Deirdre Dunn '99 has been named to the GTE College Sports Information Directors of America second team Academic All-District for the Fall/Winter At-Large team.

The Northeast Fencing Conference recently handed out its post-season awards and MIT was strongly represented. On the women's first team were epeeists Meredith Rising '98 and Nora Sasz '99, and foil fencer Aimee Wiltz '99. Second team honors went to Jessica Sandland '99 who also competes in epee. On the men's side, Brian Bower '99 was a first team selection in the sabre, while epeeist Matt Duplessie '99 also earned first team honors. Second team selections for the men were Evan Efstathiou '00 in sabre and Ali Ibraham in '01 foil. Additionally, MIT head coach Jarek Koniusz was named the Northeast Fencing Conference Coach of the Year.

Ravi Sastry '98 had an outstanding meet in last weekend's quad meet victory over Bates, Bowdoin and Colby Colleges. Sastry not only won three events, but he set personal bests in each. Sastry took the long jump (22'2.5"), the 100m dash (11.0), and 110m hurdles (14.9), and placed third in the 200m dash and the high jump.

Even though football season ended in November, Brad Gray '98 continues to garner awards. The defensive tackle has recently been named the male winner of the Walter Byers Scholarship, the highest honor bestowed upon a student athlete by the National Collegiate Athletic Association. Gray was one of four male finalists from all NCAA divisions throughout the country and is the first MIT student to win the prestigious award.