The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 55.0°F | Overcast

MIT Lightweight Crew No Match for Top Seed Yale

By Christopher Liu
Team Member

The lightweight crew team suffered a disappointing loss to Yale University last Saturday in the annual Joy Cup Regatta.

Yale was coming into the race with a big win over Harvard University the previous week that put them in the top-seeded position among the Eastern Association of Rowing Schools. This was no surprise to many since Yale has traditionally been very fast early in the season.

The racing began at 7:15 a.m. on the Charles River with the freshman fours event. Yale entered two fours in this race against MIT's second freshman four. The freshman squad could not match Yale's team depth and lost to both fours. The four was rowed by Huge Liu '01, Kevin Chao '01, Ben Zotto '01, Andy Kostoulas '01, and Eric Lee '01 at coxswain. Yale's first freshman four finished in 7:40, followed by their second four in 7:51, and MIT in 8:09.

The freshman eight fared better against Yale but still could not generate a win. The eight, manned by Melahn Parker '01, Adam Reynolds '01, Stephen Carr '01, Lou Nervegna '01, Eric Ferreira '00, Rich Hanna '01, Kevin Schmidt '01, and Melissa Light '01 at coxswain, gave Yale a good race but could not stop Yale from creeping ahead through the course of the race. Yale won the race in a time of 6:22 with MIT following at 6:36.

The junior varsity squad rowed well technically but was no match for Yale's power. The Yale boat had an open water lead early in the race and MIT could not catch them. The JV team fell to Yale in a time of 7:02 to Yale's 6:22. The squad consisted of Kartik Mani '00, Steve Huang '99, David Manz '00, Ben Boehm '99, Stu Jackson '00, Marc Moesse '00, Jeremy Hui '99, Shawn Hwang '99, and Sahar Aminipour '00 at coxswain.

The varsity squad fared best against Yale, but was still beaten by 15 seconds. The squad rowed well in the first 500 meters despite a jammed slide that prevented the bow man from rowing several strokes. MIT rowed stroke for stroke with Yale and stayed even. Yale began to move in the second five hundred and pulled out to a one length lead by the halfway point in the race. The Engineers had difficulty with the technique in the third 500 meters, allowing Yale to extend its lead. Yale finished the race in a time of 6:05 to MIT's 6:20. MIT's lineup was Kris Kendall '98, Dan Frisk '99, Eric Bevan '99, Paul Oppold '99, Joel Johnson '98, Chris Liu '98, Seth Newburg '00, Garrett Shook G, and Joe Irineo '98 at coxswain.