The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 80.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Men's Lacrosse Team is League Champion

mensBy Roger Crosley
Sports Information Director

The men's lacrosse team captured the 1995 Pilgrim Lacrosse League Championship with a 166 thrashing of Roger Williams University on Saturday.

The 91 Engineers are undefeated in conference play (70) with only a make up game with Curry College left in league competition. The Engineers nine wins are the most since 1988 (when the team also won the Pilgrim League), and the season record is the best for an MIT men's lacrosse team since 1961.

Women's Track Championships

Kristin Ratliff '95 was a double winner in the New England Women's Eight Conference Track Championships held last weekend at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Ratliff won both the discus and the shot put. She set a new meet and Institute record in the shot put with a heave of 38 feet, and her throw of 120'4" was enough to take the title in the discus.

Janis Eisenberg '98 also won the NEW 8 individual championship in the 3,000 meters with a meet and school record time of 10 minutes 33.94 seconds.

Track and Field

For the second time this spring season, MIT track weight man John Wallberg '96 won all three weight events in a track meet. In a dual meet victory over Division II Springfield College, Wallberg won the hammer throw (180'11"), the discus (158'0") and the shot put (45'6") to lead the Engineers.

Ethan Crain '95 was also a double winner for the Engineers with victories in the 1,500 meters and the 800 meters, as was Matt Sandholm '96 in the 100 and 200 meters.