The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 67.0°F | Overcast

Lyren Named NCGA Division III Senior Gymnast of the Year

By Roger Crosley
Director of Sports Information

Gymnast Julie Lyren '93 is the second MIT athlete in as many years to be named the Division III Senior Gymnast of the Year by the National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA). Lyren's selection follows the selection of Lisa Arel '92 at last year's championship. Lyren was also named to the NCGA All-America Academic squad as was teammate Karen Oda '93. Lyren is a materials science and engineering major while Oda, who hails from majors in biology. In the competition held at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Lyren earned All-America status in both the beam and all-around at the championships. She tied for fourth on the beam and also finished fourth in the all-around. Janet Sollod '96 placed 13th in the all-around.

Indoor Track

Pole vaulter Matt Robinson '94 was the only place winner for the Engineers in last weekend's IC4A meet held at Harvard University. Robinson set both a personal and indoor record with a vault of 16 feet, 3/4 inches to place sixth in the competition. Robinson is the first MIT athlete to place in the IC4A since Bill Singhose '90 in 1990. Singhose, also a pole vaulter, placed fourth in the IC4A while setting the record of 15--10 1/4 which Robinson broke.


Five skiers have been named to the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association Division II All-East team. From the women's team, Kate Bergeron '93 was a selection for the fourth consecutive year. Bergeron won the New England Division II Classical Cross Country championship for the second consecutive year. Joining Bergeron on the women's All-East squad is Gwen Crevensten '96. Male representatives on the All-East squad are cross country skiers Christian Lund '96, Westley Sherman '95 and Joel Sindelar '93.

Men's Swimming

The men's swim team tied its best finish ever in the New England Division III Championships with a fourth place finish in last weekend's meet. The Engineers were led by the 800- and 400-yard freestyle relay teams which captured titles. The team of Brian Meade '93, Bob Rockwell '93, Jim Bandy '93, and Chad Gunnlaugsson '93 won both events. The four seniors broke their own New England Division III record in the 800 and also set a pool, league and Institute record in the 400. Gunnlaugsson, Meade, Ted Achtem '95 and Dave Ferguson '93, set an Institute record in the 400-yard medley relay and were provisional qualifiers for the NCAA Division III National Championships. Two provisional individual qualifiers for the Division III championships also came from the meet. Ferguson in the 200-yard individual medley and Achtem in the 400-yard individual medley and the 200-yard backstroke.


Rod Tranum '93, MIT's record setting football wide receiver, has been named one of three male finalists for the National Collegiate Athletic Association Walter Byers Scholarship. Tranum, an electrical engineering major, is the second consecutive finalist from the Institute. The Byers Scholarship is the highest scholarship honor bestowed by the NCAA.


Wrestler Jeff Breedlove '94 has been named to the National Division III Wrestling Coaches Association Scholar/All-America team. Breedlove is a mechanical engineering major and was captain of this year's team.

Wrestling coach Tim Walsh has recently been honored by the NCAA Division III Wrestling Coaches Association with that organization's 25-year coaching award. Walsh, who has been at MIT since 1980, has compiled a career record of 146-76-1 for a winning percentage of .657. Walsh is also a two-time New England College Conference Wrestling Association coach of the year.