The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 46.0°F | Light Rain Fog/Mist

UA Council Creates Committee to Advise President

By Richard Chae
Looking to make the various bodies of the Undergraduate Association more cohesive, the UA Council decided at its Wednesday night meeting to create a Presidential Advisory Committee.

The rest of the meeting was spent on officer installation, during which time Shally Bansal '93 was named UA president and David J. Kessler '94 UA vice president.

Bansal, who co-sponsored the PAC bill with Kessler, said that the group would serve only in an advisory capacity. The committee, which will meet biweekly, includes the executive officers of the UA, the UA Council floor leader, presidents of the InterFraternity Council, Dormitory Council, and Pan-Hellenic Society, and chairmen of UA standing committees. Despite some confusion concerning the role of the PAC with regard to the existing Executive Committee, the bill passed by a vote of 16-1, with 6 abstentions.

In other legislation, Kessler presented a bill proposing that the council meet on another day of the week, since the IFC and DormConn also meet on Wednesdays. "It's sort of our responsibility to move our meetings to another day," since the UAC only began meeting on Wednesdays last year. The issue was tabled for further discussion at the first fall council meeting.

The proposed Student Life Fee and its relevant bills, which have become a major issue in recent days, were not discussed, despite being on the meeting's agenda. Outgoing UAVP J. Paul Kirby '92, one of the proposal's major supporters, said that Arthur C. Smith, dean for undergraduate education and student affairs, felt that the 15 percent of students who voted at the referendum was not enough, and that Smith "said that the council did not have the authority to decide what was sufficient."

Installation of officers

Bansal, Kessler, and Raajnish A. Chitaley '95 formally assumed the respective offices of UA president, UA vice president, and UAC floor leader at this final meeting of the 1991-92 academic year.

Policy Committee confirmations included Keelan K. Yang '94 as chair of the Committee on Educational Policy and Emily R. Prenner '93 as chair of the Committee on the Food Services.

The UAC also confirmed its new Administrative Committee chairmen:Matthew S. Warren '93, chair of the UA Finance Board, Tavenner M. Hall '93, chair of the Course Evaluation Guide, Dung M. Vu '94, nominations chair, and Frances Hsieh '95, publicity chair. Other confirmations included UA Secretary General Lynetta S. Frasure '95, UA Treasurer Daniel J. Dunn '94, and the class officers.

In a unanimous vote, Steven A. Luperchio '95, David C. Wong '94, Jacob W. Loomis '94, and Mark A. Herschberg '95 were elected to interim positions on the Executive Committee. In a separate ballot, Drew L. McGillivary '94 ran unopposed and was elected the UAC's council member on the UA Finance Board.