The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 46.0°F | Overcast

1992 Awards Convocation Recipients

The following awards were presented on Wednesday at the annual Institute awards convocation:

The Karl Taylor Compton Prizes

(For students who have made outstanding contributions in promoting high standards of achievement and good citizenship)

Paula T. Hammond G

Kathleen Mahoney '92

Reginald Parker '92

Andrew F. Parsons '92

The Laya W. Wiesner Award

(For an undergraduate woman who has enhanced MIT community life)

Amy R. Pritchett '92

The Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Awards

(For achievements in the creative arts)

Jill B. Soley '92

Tarik K. Alkasab '92

Uriel J. Wilensky G

The William L. Stewart, Jr. Awards

(For outstanding contributions to extracurricular life)

Baker House Tutors

National Society of Black Engineers

Glen D. Weinstein '92

Thomas R. Westcott '93

"Women in Technology and Policy"

The Albert G. Hill Prize

(For minority juniors or seniors who have maintained high academic standards or improved the quality of life for minorities)

Charisse R. Russell '92

Homer A. Perez '93

The Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Award

(For a member of the Interfraternity Council for spirit and dedication)

Holly L. Simpson '92

The James R. Killian, Jr. Community Service Award

(For a fraternity with an outstanding community service program)

Theta Chi

The Gordon Y. Billard Award

(For outstanding merit performed for the Institute)

Deirdre A. Dow-Chase, administrative officer, National Magnet Laboratory

Philip J. Keohan, comptroller, financial operations

Thomas L. Magnanti, professor of management

The IFC Alumni Relations Award

Delta Tau Delta

The Kenneth R. Wadleigh Award

(For an independent living group for promoting faculty/student interaction)

Sigma Alpha Epsilon

The Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement to MIT Education

Freshman Advisor Seminar Program

The Association of MIT Alumnae Award

(For senior women for academic excellence)

Konstantina Trbovic '92

The Graduate Student Council Teaching Awards

(Presented separately in each school)

School of Science : Michael F. Sipser, professor of mathematics

Architecture : Christopher Dewart, technical instructor

Engineering : Roy M. Oliveria, technical instructor

Management : Alfredo M. Kofman and Professor Andrew W. Lo, professors of management

Humanities :Deborah K. Fitzgerald, professor of science, technology, and society

The James N. Murphy Award

Peggy Berkovitz, graduate administrator, Department of Physics

Melinda Glidden Cerny, undergraduate program administrator, Department of Chemistry

Kathleen T. O'Sullivan, administrative officer, LIDS

The Edward L. Horton Fellowship Award

(For fostering fellowship among graduate students)

Ad Hoc Committee on Sexual Harassment

The Evertt Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Jesus A. del Alamo, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

Eric Lander, professor of biology

The Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

Harold Abelson PhD '73, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

Gerald J. Sussman '68, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

The Howard W. Johnson Award

Thomas A. Washington '92

The Betsy Schumacker Award

(For an undergraduate woman athlete)

Lisa K. Arel '92

The Goodwin Medal

(For a graduate student for conspicuously effective teaching)

Jacqueline A. Acho G

Mohamed Yahiaoui G

The Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award

(For a male senior athlete for humility and leadership)

Matthew D. Long '92

The Pewter Bowl Award

(For a female senior athlete for inspiration and leadership)

Showna R. Chang '92

The Malcolm G. Kispert Award

(For the male and female senior scholar-athletes of the year)

Lisa K. Arel '92

Amy J. Rovelstad '92

Rodrigo R. Rubiano '92

The Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts

(For a graduating senior)

Alexander P. Rigopulos '92

The Harold J. Pettegrove Award

(For outstanding service to intramural athletics)

Mark Jansen '92