The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web

Weekend is kind to crew teams

By Laura Beecroft

and Dylan Cors

MIT sent two boats to the Head of the Ohio Regatta in Pittsburgh, PA, last weekend. This four-year-old regatta consisted of a two and a half mile race down the Allegheny River, finishing at the junction of the Allegheny and the Monongahela Rivers, which together form the majestic Ohio River.

The varsity women's eight scored a bronze medal in a competition with seven other crews. Brown University won the race in 13 minutes, 32 seconds, followed by Cornell University (13:35)

and MIT (14:16). Representing MIT, bow to stern, were Becky Zavistoski '92, Barb Sigmund '92, Bethany Foch '93, Sue Perrin '91, Sarah Burgess '93, Lynore Abbott '91, Laura Beecroft '91, Lola Matysiak '91 (stoke), and Melissa Norcross '91 (coxswain).

The varsity heavyweight men also performed well this weekend, missing a medal by one place. The eight-boat event was won by Brown, whose time of 12:10 was only three seconds off the course record, set by the United States Olympic crew at last year's regatta.

Cornell was second, in 12:17, followed by the Bachelor's Barge Rowing Club (12:19) and MIT (12:31). Chuck Sindelar '91 occupied the bowseat, followed by Jeff Myjak '91, Jon Li '93, Dylan Cors '91, Brad Layton '92, Tom Cole '91, Tyler Worden '92, stroke Roger Knapp '91, and a vibrant coxswain, Mark Driscoll '92.

The varsity lightweight men's and novice women's crews raced three miles at the Textile River Regatta in Lowell, MA, on Sunday.

The men performed exceptionally well in the fours race, placing first and third out of 12 crews. The winning crew (Katie Broughton '92, Scott Jacobsmeyer '92, David Brenneis '92, Jeff Kuehn '92 and Rick Ewing '92) finished in 20:08. Finishing third, in 20:16, were Chris Cunningham '93, Franz Busse '93, Geoff Kuziemko '92, Godard Abel '93 and Otway Louie '93.

The men also sported an eight at this regatta, and the women entered two eights in their first race of the season.

(Laura Beecroft '91 is a member of the varsity women's crew team; Dylan Cors '91 is a member of the varsity heavyweight men's team.)