The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 68.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Whitaker Council not hiding from Wolfe's tenure case

The May 11 issue of The Tech contains an opinion piece by Rebecca D. Kaplan '92 and Angela J. Babineau '90 on the subject of Associate Professor Jeremy M. Wolfe PhD '81's tenure case ["Jeremy Wolfe's tenure denial -- no surprise, just regret"]. That opinion piece contains an untrue allegation to the effect that the Whitaker College Council is in "hiding."

The truth is simply that several telephone calls on the subject of Mr. Wolfe were received by my office in rather rapid succession on Tuesday, May 8. As a consequence of those calls, I agreed to be interviewed by The Tech's executive editor, Linda A. D'Angelo '90, on Wednesday, May 9. When I met with her, Ms. D'Angelo was provided with a typed list of the Whitaker College Council membership. Because other requests were thought to have originated with The Tech, it was believed that all such requests had been addressed.

As Ms. D'Angelo mentions in her story in the same issue, I chair the Whitaker College Council. The other members are as follows: Jonathan Allen PhD '68, Emilio Bizzi, Richard O. Hynes PhD '71, Samuel J. Keyser, Mujid S. Kazimi SM '73, Roger G. Mark '60, Wayne W. O'Neil '58, Glen L. Urban, Patrick H. Winston '65, Gerald N. Wogan, David N. Wormley '62, and Mark S. Wrighton.

Kenneth Smith->

Associate Provost and->

Vice President for Research->