The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 20.0°F | A Few Clouds

Indoor track wins 57th dual meet

By David Rothstein

BRUNSWICK, ME -- The indoor track team completed the 1988-89 winter season undefeated with Saturday's easy 83-44 win over Bowdoin College. The win marked MIT's 57th consecutive dual or triangular meet without a loss, a record that dates back to April 1983.

With the win over Bowdoin, MIT enters post-season competition in earnest, having finished fifth at the Greater Boston Championships Feb. 3-4. It travels to the US Coast Guard Academy in New London, CT, Saturday to defend its New England Division III Championships crown. The next three weekends are devoted to various championship meets, culminating in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Championships at Bowdoin on March 11.

MIT swept five events at Bowdoin -- the 35-pound weight throw, the shot put, the 1500 meters, the 55-meter high hurdles, and the 400 meters -- en route to the win, competing without standout Bill Singhose '90, who is nursing an injured hamstring muscle.

Scott Deering '89 was the Engineers' only double winner, taking the shot put (48'71/2") and the weight throw (56'11/4"), while Paul McKenzie '90 and Kevin Scannell '92 each picked up a first and second place.

Scannell jumped 22'1" to win the long jump, and 44'31/2" for a second in the triple jump, while McKenzie placed first in the high hurdles, at 8.17 seconds, and second in the 200-meter dash with 23.67.

McKenzie inched Dean Moon '92 for first in the hurdles, as the freshman was clocked in with an identical 8.17. The 3,000-meter run also ended in a very tight race for first as Sean Kelley '89 edged Bowdoin runner Paul Hickey, 8:49.39 to 8:49.69.

Other winners for MIT included: Mike Piepergerdes '92 in the 1500 meters (4:00.84); Mark Dunzo '91 in the 400 meters (52.09); Dave Wright '89 in the 55-meter dash (6.79); and the 1600-meter relay team of Dan Rubenstein '92, Tim Alosi '90, Joe Kowalski '90, and Garrett Moose '91 (3:33.85).