The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 78.0°F | A Few Clouds

Renshaw takes Muir trophy, leads swimmers

By Martin Dickau

Co-captain Andy Renshaw '85 became the first MIT swimmer to win the Bob Muir Award for most points accumulated over four years at the New England Intercollegiate Swimming Championships hosted by Springfield College last weekend.

The MIT senior finished first in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of :50.80 and third in the 200-yard butterfly, leading the Engineers to a ninth-place showing in the tournament which included teams from all three NCAA divisions.

Clark Dorman '87 followed Renshaw's example, taking second place in the 1-meter diving and third in the 3-meter. Both Dorman and Renshaw, along with diver Peter Ulrich '86 will be participating in the national championships later this month.

The 800-yard freestyle relay team of Renshaw, co-captain Peter Hickman '85, Brett Miwa '86, and Billy Gordon '87 set a new MIT record and qualified for the nationals by finishing fourth overall, first among Division III schools, in 7:05.80.

Renshaw, Hickman, Scott Doran '85, and Brantley Dettmer '87 combined in the medley relay to capture fifth place in 3:39.11. The finish also qualifies the team for the nationals, which will be held March 21-23 at Emery University in Atlanta.