The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 73.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

MIT indoor track team overwhelms opponents

By Arthur Lee

Under the pale, bluish tint of the fluorescent, artificial skies of the Athletic Center, the MIT track team overwhelmed its 21 opponents in the 6th annual New England Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships, held last Saturday.

In doing so, the Engineers also set a new record for most points scored in the championships -- 107, breaking the old mark of 104, set by MIT in 1982. Brandeis University, which squeaked by MIT 86-84 in last year's championship, finished twenty points behind the dominant Engineers.

Coach Gordon Kelly of MIT said, "The team just put on a tremendous effort, and they probably could not have done any better." He added, "I am proud of their performance." Assistant coach Halston Taylor also noted, "They just wanted to win this one bad."

Co-captain Pat "Big Man" Parris '85 and Greg "Pale Face" Procopio '85 out-muscled their opponents in the 35-lb. weight throw. Parris captured first place, setting both a meet record and a new facility record with a throw of 59@# 6-3/4". Procopio's healing back did not give him any problems, and his performance showed it. His throw of 52@# 51/2" was good enough for second place.

In the jumping department, Ed Freeman '86 was the only Engineer to place in any of the events. He leaped 21@# 6-3/4" to capture second place in the long jump.

Gordon Holterman '87 did the best he could in fending off Mark Beeman (Brandeis), James Goodberlet (Bates), and Tom Pickering (Colby), but he settled for a fast, 3:53.35 fourth-place in the 1500-meter run. Beeman set a meet record and a new facility record of 3:49.68, breaking the old records of Paul Neves '83.

In the 55-meter hurdles, Sean Garrett '88 secured fourth place with a time of 7.85 seconds. The winner of the event, Victor Gilmer of Westfield State, set a new facility record of 7.77 seconds.

Dan Lin '86 finished fourth in the 400-meter dash with his time of 50.88 seconds. Mike Hammond '87 came in at 51.68 seconds to take the sixth spot.

Joe Peters '88 dashed in at 6.66 seconds for a winning performance in the 55-meter dash. He outleaned Victor Gilmer, the record setter in the hurdles, by two one-hundredths of a second.

Another close race took place between Kevin Crawley of Coast Guard and co-captain Ron Smith '85 in the 800-meter run. Smith led for most of the race but was edged out in the last 100 meters by Crawley. Their respective times were 1:54.83 and 1:54.90, both of which broke the new facility mark of 1:55.07.

Holterman, after a fourth-place finish in the 1500, came back to win the 1000-meter run. He clocked in at 2:31.18.

Although MIT was unable to seed any competitors in the 3000-meter run, the race provided excitement for the host spectators. Art Feeley of Colby and James White of Southeastern Mass. roused the crowd with their frequent exchange of the lead during the last 250 meters.

Feeley finally took a commanding lead in the home stretch to edge out White. Their respective times were 8:29.95 and 8:31.15.

In the distance medley relays, MIT settled for third place with a time of 10:25.50. Brian Callaghan '87 ran the first leg (800-meter), Charles Parrot '87 took the second (400-meter), Rod Hinman '88 ran the third (1200-meter), and Eugene Tung '88 finished the relay (1600-meter).

Pole-vaulting was a very competitive event this year. The final height was 14@# 6", cleared by Eric Poullain of Tufts towards the end of the meet. Ross Dreyer '86 cleared 13@# 6" to capture an admirable sixth place.

In the 4-by-400 relays, the Engineers sent Hammond, Alex Menchaca '85, Lin, and Richards to face the competitive Brandeis and Bowdoin squads. Lin managed to stay close enough to his opponents, allowing Richards to sprint past his foes in the last 150 meters. The winning time was 3:26.26. Brandeis and Bowdoin clocked in at 3:26.94 and 3:27.97 respectively.

Brandeis came back to beat MIT in the 4-by-800 relays. The Brandeis' team of Dave Langdon, Dave Kelts, Ken Andrews, and Mark Beeman defeated the Engineer foursome of Andrew Peddie '86, John Hradnansky '85, Smith, and Holterman.

Smith lost the slight lead he had to Andrews in the third leg, but stayed close. Although Holterman managed to keep Beeman's lead from getting out of hand, he simply could not overtake the fleet-footed Brandeis runner. Brandeis' time was 7:54.39. MIT came in at 7:56.59.