The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 54.0°F | Thunderstorm Heavy Rain and Breezy

D...Auria Named Player of the Year, Bartolotta Given Rookie Honors

By James D. Kramer

MIT (21-8), No. 2 seed in the ECAC Division III Men’s New England Basketball Tournament, defeated No. 7 seed Plymouth State University (16-11) in the first round of the eight-team competition on Wednesday.

Senior Michael W. D’Auria ’06 was named the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men’s Basketball Player of the Year by the league’s coaches in all-conference voting announced on Tuesday.

D’Auria placed in the top six in five different NEWMAC statistical categories, including scoring (19.0 ppg, second), steals (2.4 spg, second) and assists (3.5 apg, fifth). D’Auria takes home the top honor after being selected First Team All-NEWMAC a year ago and Second Team in 2003-2004.

MIT made a clean sweep of the individual awards as freshman James M. Bartolotta ’09 was selected as NEWMAC’s Rookie of the Year, while Larry Anderson garnered the conference’s Coach of the Year honor.

Bartolotta posted the single-game high in scoring for MIT this year with 31 points in a win over Clark University. Anderson guided the Engineers to a second-place finish in the regular season, their first appearance in the NEWMAC Championship, and a program-record 21 wins.

Swimming coach honored

Dawn Gerken was named NEWMAC Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year after leading MIT to a second-place finish at the NEWMAC Championships. National power Springfield College won an unprecedented sixth consecutive team crown with Wellesley College finishing 140 points behind the Engineers for third in the standings.

During the three-day competition, the Engineers set 10 Institute records and qualified four swimmers and a diver for the NCAA Championships.

Swimmer wins at NEWMAC

MIT senior Matthieu Fuzellier grabbed an NCAA “B” qualification with a dominating victory in the 200 back at the 2006 NEWMAC Men’s Swimming Championships. Fuzellier led from start to finish and won by nearly seven seconds, clocking 1:52.13.

The Cardinal and Gray posted its biggest score of the three-day meet in the 200 breast. The Engineers placed four swimmers among the top seven, led by junior Matthew G. Angle, who broke Bruce J. Di Bello’s 2002 school record with a time of 2:08.47.

MIT closed out the championships, as a strong anchor leg by senior Grady Snyder propelled the Engineers to victory in the 400 free relay. The Engineers were in a distant second midway through the event, when senior Josiah Rosmarin split 45.89 to throw Tech right back in the mix. Snyder followed with a swim of 45.83 as MIT finished with an NCAA “B” cut time of 3:05.85.

The final clip was just off the Institute record of 3:05.21 set in 1993, although the final time set a new championship record.

Katz Leads Rifle Team

Junior Anton Katz earned All-Conference accolades from the Mid-Atlantic Rifle Conference after an outstanding season in which he led the Engineers in both guns in nearly every competition.

Katz earned First Team All-Conference honors in smallbore, closing with the fourth-highest scoring average in the league (577.00). He was also an honorable mention in air rifle as his average total of 577.43 ranked ninth among MAC competitors.

Ball Wins Pole Vault

Nathan B. Ball G earned the Engineers 10 points in the pole vault for Tech’s track and field unit at the 2006 Men’s All-New England Championships. He won the event with a clear of 163.

Senior Uzoma A. Orji followed with two top-notch performances of his own. Shortly after the vault, Orji launched six throws over 61’ with his career second-best and season-best toss of 64’ 7-3/4”, winning the weight throw by nearly six feet.

The following day, Orji finished second overall in the shot put, falling only to Division I rival Derek Anderson of Northeastern University.

Fencing Competes in IFA

This past weekend, the MIT men’s fencing team competed in the 112th IFA Championship, the oldest collegiate championship in the country. The Engineers finished sixth out of 11 teams and sent Igor Kopylov ’09, William T. Walsh ’06, Spencer R. Sugimoto ’08, Trevor T. Chang ’07, and Michael N. Beregovsky ’06 to the championship bracket.

The field included Boston College, Brandeis University, Brown University, Columbia University, Harvard University, New York University, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, Vassar College and Yale University.