The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 29.0°F | Partly Cloudy

Faculty Promoted

Faculty Promoted

On May 24, the Executive Committee of the MIT Corporation approved the promotion of various faculty members. All promotions took effect July 1. The following members were awarded tenure. All are associate professors, unless otherwise noted:

Eric KlopferUrban Studies and Planning

J. Phillip ThompsonUrban Studies and Planning

Eytan H. ModianoAeronautics and Astronautics

Robert T. MorrisElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Rahul SarpeshkarElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Yoel Fink PhD ’00Materials Science and Engineering

Christine OrtizMaterials Science and Engineering

George BarbastathisMechanical Engineering

Nicolas Hadjiconstantinou PhD ’98Mechanical Engineering

Sang-Gook Kim PhD ’85Mechanical Engineering

Stefan HelmreichAnthropology

Christine J. WalleyAnthropology

Meg JacobsHistory

Jonathan RoddenPolitical Science

Junot DiazWriting and Humanistic Studies

Jun PanSloan School of Management

Christopher B. BurgeBiology

Elly Nedivi*Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Pawan Sinha PhD ’95Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Timothy F. JamisonChemistry

Raffaele Ferrari*Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences

Denis S. AurouxMathematics

Christoph M. E. PausPhysics

* Promoted from assistant professor

The following faculty members were promoted from associate professor with tenure to full professor:

Mitchel J. ResnickMedia Arts and Sciences

David W. MillerAeronautics and Astronautics

Paula T. Hammond ’84Chemical Engineering

Franz-Joseph Ulm,Civil and Environmental Engineering

Hari BalakrishnanElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Dennis M. Freeman PhD ’86Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Alexandre MegretskiElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Martin C. RinardElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Daniela L. RusElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Michael GreenstoneEconomics

Elizabeth A. WoodHistory

Alexander ByrneLinguistics and Philosophy

Diana E. HendersonLiterature

Janet SonenbergMusic and Theater Arts

Frank B. GertlerBiology

Gigliola StaffilaniMathematics

The following faculty members were promoted from assistant professor to associate professor without tenure:

Erika NaginskiArchitecture

Christopher CsikszentmihalyiMedia Arts and Sciences

Judith Stefania Donath PhD ’97Media Arts and Sciences

Hugh Miller HerrMedia Arts and Sciences

JoAnn CarminUrban Studies and Planning

Raul A. RadovitzkyAeronautics and Astronautics

Patrick Seamus DoyleChemical Engineering

Jongyoon HanElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

and Biological Engineering

Marc A. BaldoElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Fredo DurandElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Steve Gordon Massaquoi PhD ’99Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Robert C. Miller ’95Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Michael Henderson PerrottElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Jovan PopovicElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Joel VoldmanElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Lizhong ZhengElectrical Engineering and Computer Science

Olivier L. de Weck PhD ’01Engineering Systems Division in Aeronautics

Daniel D. FreyEngineering Systems Division in Mechanical Engineering

Darrell J. Irvine PhD ’00Materials Science and Engineering

and Biological Engineering

Martin L. CulpepperMechanical Engineering

Anette E. (Peko) HosoiMechanical Engineering

Alexandra H. Techet PhD ’01Mechanical Engineering

Muhamet YildizEconomics

Ian CondryForeign Languages and Literatures

Christopher CapozzolaHistory

M. Diane BurtonSloan School of Management

Jeremie GallienSloan School of Management

Fiona E. MurraySloan School of Management

David M. SabatiniBiology

Joseph P. Sadighi PhD ’99Chemistry

James A. HansenEarth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences

David MohrigEarth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences

Dmitry A. PanchenkoMathematics

Alexander Postnikov PhD ’97Mathematics

Jeffrey A. ViaclovskyMathematics

Scott M. BurlesPhysics

Erotokritos KatsavounidisPhysics

Young S. Lee PhD ’00Physics