The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web


An April 24 article, “IS&T Staff Fixing Recent Problem with Primary Web and Mailing Servers,” provided incorrect information about the maximum file size of files transferred through According to Jeffrey I. Schiller ’79, off-campus users are limited to 50 megabyte files, and there is no limit for on-campus users. The article had stated that the limit was 250 MB for all users. The article also gave an incorrect date for the start of problems outgoing mail. The problems began on Friday, April 14, not Friday, March 14.

The list of faculty members who signed the letter “MIT Faculty Statement on the Visualizing Cultures Web Site” published in the June 9 issue was incomplete. The remaining faculty members are: Steven Lerman, Class of 1922 Professor and Director of CECI, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Pauline R. Maier, William R. Kenan Jr Professor of History; Roger G. Mark, Professor of HST and EECS; Anne M. McCants, Associate Professor of History; David A. Mindell, Frances and David Dibner Professor of the History of Engineering and Manufacturing; Joel Moses, Institute Professor, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering Systems; Dava J. Newman, Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and Engineering Systems; Steven E Ostrow, Lecturer, History Faculty; Peter C. Perdue, T.T. and Wei Fong Chao Professor of Asian Civilizations; David Pesestsky, Ferrari P. Ward Professor of Linguistics; Jeffrey S. Ravel, Associate Professor of History; Norvin Richards, Associate Professor of Linguistics; Harriet Ritvo, Arthur J. Conner Professor of History; Richard J. Samuels, Ford International Professor of Political Science, Director, Center for International Studies; Bish Sanyal, Professor of Urban Planning, Director, SPURS/HHH; Merritt Roe Smith, Leverett Howell and William King Cutten Professor of the History of Technology; Bob Stalnaker, Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Philosophy; Edward S. Steinfeld, Associate Professor of Political Science; Emma Teng, Associate Professor of Chinese Studies; Bruce Tidor, Professor of Biological Engineering and Computer Science, Associate Chair of the Faculty; Edward Turk, The John E. Burchard Professor of Humanities; Daniele Veneziano, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Ann Wolpert, Director of Libraries; Evan Ziporyn, Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Music, Head, Music and Theater Arts; Ruth Perry, Professor of Literature; Julian Wheatley, Senior Lecturer in Chinese.