The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 50.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Two Faculty Members Elected to NAE

Two members of the MIT faculty are among the 74 new members and 10 new foreign associates who were elected to the National Academy of Engineering last Friday.

Professor of Operations Research Dimitris J. Bertsimas PhD ’88 was selected for his “contributions to optimization theory and stochastic systems and innovative applications in financial engineering and transportation,” according to the NAE press release.

Shafrira Goldwasser, professor of computer science and engineering, was chosen for her “contributions to cryptography, number theory, and complexity theory, and their applications to privacy and security,” according to the press release.

Members are elected for their contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education,” according to the press release.

Including this year’s new members, there are 2,095 members and 178 foreign associates in the NAE.

--Kelley Rivoire