The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 40.0°F | A Few Clouds

Swimming and Diving Teams Host MIT Invitational

By Victoria K. Anderson


The MIT Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving teams closed out their regular season schedule by hosting the inaugural MIT Invitational on Saturday, Feb. 5. Although no team scores were kept, the Beavers held their own against swimmers from some of the most competitive New England swimming programs, including Williams, Middlebury, and Tufts.

Highlighting the action were several top-place finishes from both the men’s and the women’s side. The men’s 200-Yard Medley Relay of Craig M. Edwards ’07, Joseph P. Carlucci ’05, Jonathan S. Varsanik ’05, and Grady A. Snyder ’06 touched the wall in 1:34.91 to take first in the field and to dip under the provisional qualification standard for the Division III National Championships.

Also qualifying for the championships was Doria M. Holbrook ’08, who earned yet another provisional mark in three-meter diving on her way to a victory in the event.

Both the men and the women topped the field in the distance events, as Katherine C. Thornton ’07 won the 1650 Free and Mark Y. Liao ’06 nabbed a victory for himself and a new institute record in the 1000 Free. His time of 9:53.41 broke the 15-year-old record set by Jim Bandy. Liao also added a victory later in the meet in the 500 Free, as he stopped the clock nearly 11 seconds ahead of his nearest competitor.

The team scored other impressive victories over the very deep field, thanks to the efforts of Matthieu Fuzellier ’05 in the 100 back, Kalvin D. Kao ’08 in the 200 fly, Carlucci in the 200 breast, and Julianna K. Edwards ’08 in the 200 back.

Both teams are off from competition until their respective New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championships, where each squad will attempt to move up from their runner-up statuses last season to take the title this year. The women travel to Wellesley for their Feb. 18-20 meet, while the men will host the championships Feb. 25-27.