The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 44.0°F | Fair

Six Run For ’08 Class President

Study Breaks are Perennial Topic

By Jiao Wang

Wondering why you’ve been seeing “Vote for X” written in chalk all over campus? It’s because online voting for the 2008 Class Council and Undergraduate Association Senate began yesterday at 12:01 a.m. Six candidates are vying for 2008 Class President, and three for Vice President.

Electronic voting ends Thursday, but paper ballots will be available in Lobby 10 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Friday.

Candidates for 2008 President

There are a number of competitors for the position of Class of 2008 President; the six candidates are Lindsay L. Calderon ’08, Christopher A. Chapman ’08, Scott S. Chilton ’08, Heraclio Hernandez ’08, Amrita V. Masurkar ’08, and Nifoghale D. Ovuworie ’08.

Calderon says she hopes to organize more social events such as barbeques and parties for her class and “allow us to... meet with other members... and become a more coherent class.”

Chilton describes himself as hard-working and self-determined, and says he hopes to improve the quality of student life and create a better balance between extracurriculars and classes. He urges his classmates not to forget that “there is a road outside of MIT.”

Pink-haired Masurkar, who goes by the nickname “Spam,” said she wants to “help unite the class” by carrying out events such as dances and community service events. She said that she believes that the individual is important and will take into consideration everyone’s opinion.

Ovuworie, nicknamed “Niffy,” said he plans to involve everyone by hosting more concerts, providing more discounted tickets, and holding better study breaks.

Hernandez and Chapman did not respond to requests for comment.

On the UA Web site, Chapman wrote on his platform that he would not disappoint the Class of 2008 and that there is “no limit to the amount of work [he] will put in to make sure [his] class is happy.” Hernandez did not have a platform on the UA voting Web site.

See pages 14 and 15 for candidates for other 2008 Council offices and UA Senate.