The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 30.0°F | A Few Clouds

News Briefs

UA President, VP Will Not Reimburse Any Hacking Fines

Outgoing Undergraduate Association President and Vice President Pius A. Uzamere II ’04 and Jacob W. Faber ’04 said that they will not be reimbursing any fines imposed by MIT as a result of involvement in hacks.

Last Wednesday, Uzamere and Faber sent a letter to the undergraduate student body stating that they would be accepting applications for hack fine reimbursements until 7 p.m. last Friday. In the letter, they said that they would review descriptions of these hacks and refund fines for hacks that they considered “substantive.”

Faber said that he and Uzamere received less than ten applications, but would not provide any more detail. The hacks described in the applications were “good, but not on-par” with some more popular hacks such as the Wright brothers hack and 2001 Douglas Adams hack, in which a large banner was put up in Killian Court honoring the author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, Faber said.

Faber said that the applicants have been notified that they will not be receiving reimbursements. There were no responses from the hackers to this as of yesterday evening, he said.

“At the time we wrote this, we were thinking, ‘Oh, this is such a great idea,’ but we didn’t really think about what to expect,” Faber said. He said that there are no plans to extend the deadline for hack reimbursements.

--Jenny Zhang

Grad EECS Association Now Official

The constitution for a new MIT Course VI Graduate Students Association was ratified last Wednesday with approval from over one-third of the 975 registered graduate students in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

Barun Singh G, one of the founding members, said that the purpose of the group is to enhance communication between the students and the faculty in the EECS department. The group has “been created with the blessings of the department to work with the faculty and administrators to make the department a better place,” Singh said.

The group now officially exists, said Singh, but official officer elections will not be held until next year. Mehdi Gazor G, Mark A. Finlayson G, Stephen M. Hou G, Stephen M. Kohen G, Ming Y. Tang G, and Kwaku O. Abrokwah G, the founding and active officers, will run the group until elections are held.

The original constitution of the EECS GSA required one-half of the graduate EECS students to approve the constitution. Singh said that the founders changed the requirement to one-third of the graduate EECS students because they were not able to reach half of the student body in a timely manner despite going door-to-door around the EECS laboratories to ask for signatures. Of the 373 students that voted on the constitution, 350 voted in favor and 23 voted against it.

--Kathy Dobson