The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 71.0°F | A Few Clouds

Profs Screw Students To Garner Donations

By Kathy Lin


The annual Institute Screw contest, commonly known as the “Big Screw,” began yesterday and will run through Friday. Students vote via one-cent donations for an MIT faculty or staff member that they “feel screwed them over most” during the year, according to the Web site of the MIT chapter of Alpha Phi Omega, the service fraternity that sponsors the competition. Any member of the MIT community can vote.

Students can nominate administrators, who run as themselves or on behalf of something they did, or professors, who run on behalf of a particular class, according to APO member Kaia M. Dekker ’06.

Professor Robert A. Weinberg, who is running on behalf of Introductory Biology (7.012), said that he is “flattered beyond words” about his nomination. He declined to speculate on why he was nominated.

At the end of the week, all the money raised through votes goes to a charity of the victor’s choice, said Natan T. Cliffer ’06, a member of APO. According to APO web site, the victor is also awarded a trophy -- “a three foot, left-handed aluminum wood screw.”

Big Screw Donation Totals as of Monday Night:

Charles M. Vest, MIT President: $16.99

Duane S. Boning, 6.001: $13.59

Robert C. Miller, 6.170: $10.85

Sarah A. Tabacco, 5.12: $ 6.25

Robert M. Randolph, Senior Associate Dean for Students: $ 3.88

John W. Belcher, 8.02T: $ 2.86

Byron M. Roscoe, 6.101: $ 1.25

Robert A. Weinberg, 7.012: $ 0.52

Webly Jean-Baptiste, 18.085: $ 0.00

Write-ins: $ 5.09