The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 38.0°F | A Few Clouds and Breezy

Women Swim To 2nd Place At NEWMAC

By Jennifer DeBoer


The women’s swim team finished up its 9-1 season with a second place finish at NEWMAC championships on Feb. 24.

Though MIT far outscored first place Springfield in the swimming events, Springfield’s two nationally ranked divers helped them edge MIT by only nine points, 1078.5-1069.5.

Kirstin M. Alberi ’03 qualified for Division III National Championships in the 100-yard backstroke. The relay team of Georgene M. Hilb ’04, Alberi, Kathryn M. Duffy ’04, and Monica F. Morrison ’04 also made the NCAA III B cut in the 400 yard freestyle relay with a time of 3:35.47, which set a new NEWMAC record, but they were not chosen to attend.

The Engineers had champions in the 200 yard freestyle relay of Duffy, Andrea J. Harsanyi ’02, Morrison, and Alexis A. Dieter ’03, with a time of 1:40.56 and the 400 yard medley relay of Alberi, Yihvan Vuong ’03, Harsanyi, and Morrison with a time of 4:04.72.

Morrison, who set the 100 yard freestyle record in prelims, also won the 50 yard freestyle in a NEWMAC record time of 24.68, an NCAA III B cut, and Hilb took first in the 1650 yard freestyle with a NEWMAC record of 18:05.70.

“I’m positive that our team will win NEWMAC’s next year because we get better every year,” said team tri-captain Harsanyi. “This is the strongest we’ve been so far and our new recruits keep getting faster as well.”

The women’s team finished their record-breaking season with just one loss. One of the many highlights of the winter came when they rose above years past and beat the Wellesley swim team 189-110. The Wellesley team had not lost a meet in over two years.

“It was a really big accomplishment, and it got us started on a really good season,” Dieter said.

The team will train in the new Zesiger Center when it opens next fall, which will house an Olympic size pool. “Hopefully, with the new pool coming, the MIT team will only get stronger. More pool space and the diving well will also hopefully attract recruits,” Harsanyi said.

“Much of our success is due to our excellent coaching staff,” Laura B. Shimmin ’05, said. Mary Ellen McLaughlin, head coach, was named Coach of the Year in 1996 for NCAA Division III women’s swimming.