The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 56.0°F | Overcast and Breezy

MIT Swimming Victorious In November Competitions

By Jonathan A. Goler


The MIT swimming and diving team steamrolled their competition in the week before the holiday break, with both the men (4-0) and women (3-2) raking in victories.

On Wednesday, Nov. 20, MIT hosted Springfield for their first ever home meet at the Zesiger center. The final score for the men’s meet was 129-96, and the women lost 132-100. The meets were both highly competitive, with excellent times turned in all around.

For the women, Kathryn M. Duffy ’04 won the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 55.85, and Melissa E. Dere ’06 won the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:11.03.

The MIT men dominated the meet from the beginning, showing both depth and speed, as they swept the 200-yard medley relay. Bruce J. Di Bello ’05 won the 50-yard freestyle in a time of 22.25, followed by a win in the 200-yard individual medley by John H. Rogers ’06.

Captain Sebastian Gutierrez ’03 lead a 1-2-3 sweep of the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 55.85. Joseph P. Carlucci ’05 followed with a winning time of 1:01.39 in the 100-yard breaststroke. To finish off the meet, MIT swept the 200-yard freestyle relay, winning with a time of 1:28.57.

MIT takes meet in easy sweep

On Saturday, Nov. 24, MIT faced Babson and Bowdoin at the Zesiger Center, in a triple meet. MIT walked away with four victories for the day, with the women and men both defeating both opposing teams.

In the women’s meets, MIT began the day by winning the 200-yard medley relay. Jennifer DeBoer ’05 took the 1,000-yard freestyle with a time of 11:45.56, followed by a win in the 200-yard freestyle by Georgene M. Hilb ’04. Erin M. Zoller ’04 and Yihvan Vuong ’03 won the 50-yard and 100-yard backstroke and breaststoke, respectively. The first part of the meet was finished off with sweeps in both the 100-yard butterfly and 50-yard freestyle, with Melanie J. Michalak ’06 and Captain Kirstin M. Alberi ’03 winning respectively.

MIT continued to dominate the meet in the second half, with wins by Duffy in the 100-yard freestyle, Alberi in the 500-yard freestyle, Aasia Saleemuddin ’04 in the 50-yard butterfly, and Hilb in the 200-yard individual medley. Victory was decisive: the score was 217-47 against Babson, and 176-102 against Bowdoin.

The men had a similarly superlative meet. From the beginning, MIT dominated the meet, winning the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:39.47. Mark Y. Liao ’06 followed with a win in the 1,000-yard freestyle with a time of 10:02.95. Di Bello won the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:00.88, followed by Nicholas O. Sidelnik ’05 in the 200-yard butterfly (he later won the 100-yard butterfly as well). Erdem M. Kiciman ’04 won the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 22.18.

After the diving, MIT led 90-42 against Babson. Then the fun began. Jonathan S. Varsanik ’04 won the 100-yard freestyle, and Gutierrez won the 200-yard backstroke, followed by a sweep in the 200-yard breaststroke by Di Bello, Carlucci and David D. Lohrey ’05.

At the end of the meet, despite their commanding lead, MIT continued to pound away, with Maike Geng ’04 winning the 200-yard individual medley. To finish off the meet, MIT won the 200-yard freestyle relay with a time of 1:28.24. The MIT men finished first, winning 196-100 against Babson and 196-84 against Bowdoin.