The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 46.0°F | Fair

IFC Elects New Slate Of Officers, Chairmen

By Jenny Zhang


The Interfraternity Council held elections yesterday evening for offices on its Executive Committee.

Lawrence W. Colagiovanni ’04 of Kappa Sigma will be the new IFC president, Amado G. DeHoyos ’04 of Alpha Tau Omega will be vice president, Eric J. Konopka ’05 of Sigma Nu the treasurer, and John H. Rogers ’06, also of DU, the secretary.

Colagiovanni replaces DeHoyos, who has been acting IFC president since the resignation of Andrew T. Yue ’03 in early October.

Officers were chosen by fraternity and independent living group presidents, DeHoyos said.

Colagiovanni wants new start

Colagiovanni said he sees the IFC at a turning point, with its officer turnover and the change in rush procedures.

“Many people were questioning whether the IFC has a purpose, and if they would be better off without it,” he said. “I want to put all the trouble of the past behind and set some new, concrete goals.”

He said he is determined to help the IFC form clearer lines of communication with the administration, and to make it the IFC’s rules clear to its members.

IFC elects committee chairs

In its meeting, the IFC also elected new chairmen for its committees.

David B. Gottlieb ’04 of Delta Tau Delta will be the judicial committee chair; Manish Gaudi ’05 of Alpha Delta Phi the risk management chair; Edward F. Hsieh ’05, also of DTD, the external relations chair; Brian K. Foote ’05 of Kappa Sigma the community service chair; Alex D. Forrest ’04 of DTD the inter-FSILG chair; and Anthony P. Reinen ’03 of Sigma Nu will be the chair of new member education.

Gottlieb said he plans to “restore faith in Judcomm and show it is able to serve the IFC properly, and make sure the fraternities are aware of what it is doing and respect it.”

The external relations chair, Hsieh, said he is working toward “boosting the IFC’s campus image and publicizing student-faculty events.”