The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 52.0°F | A Few Clouds

The Tech's Fall Sports Preview: Outlooks for 2002


Coach: Halston Taylor (19th season)

Key Returnees: Sean P. Nolan ’03, Albert S. Liu ’03, Benjamin A. Schmeckpeper ’05

Top Newcomers: Fivos G. Constantinou ’06, Stephen K. Maltas ’06

Outlook: The Men’s Cross Country team went undefeated in 2001, but the 2002 squad will run without All-Americans Daniel R. Feldman ’02 and Sean Montgomery ’02 who graduated last spring. The other top teams in New England suffer no such losses in their top fives. As such, it is doubtful that MIT will be able to secure one of only four regional spots for the NCAA Division III Championship. However, captain Nolan leads a solid nucleus of runners which includes Liu and Schmeckpeper. The team is aiming for its fifth consecutive NEWMAC title, a goal well within reach.


Coach: Paul Slovenski (7th season)

Key returnees: Martha W. Buckley ’04 (1), Julia C. Espel ’05 (2), Veronica A. Andrews ’05 (3), Lynn K. Kamimoto ’05 (4), Katie R. Huffman ‘’04 (5)

Top Newcomers: Betsy R. Eames ’06, Valerie Y. Kuo ’06

Outlook: The Engineers had their best team effort ever in the 2001 season finishing as undefeated NEWMAC champs. The team also placed 25th in the All-New England Championships, a significant improvement over last year. Goals for this season are to successfully defend the NEWMAC title, and to place in the top 10 at the national qualifying meet for the first time in recent history. Buckley and Espel will lead a strong crop of veterans while a number of freshman will also contribute new legs to a very promising squad.


Coach: Walter Alessi (28th season)

Key Returnees: Rory E. Foster ’04 (D), Nick R. Nestle ’04 (F), Doug L. Allaire ’04 (MF), Tizoc C. Cruz-Gonzalez ’04 (MF), Cory Y. McLean ’04 (MF), Dan Griffith ’05 (D), Robert Pilawa ’04 (D), Jose Torradas ’05 (F), Aaron J. Parness ’04 (F), Josh F. Walton ’05 (F), Morgan Mills ’05 (GK), Raul J. Coral-Pinto ’03 (GK)

Top Newcomers: Youn-Jae W. Song ’06 (MF), Josef L. Miler ’06 (MF/D), Steven J. Stoddard ‘’06 (MF/D)

Outlook: MIT returns nine of 11 starters including captains Foster (all-league 2001) and Nestle (team leading scorer.) The team went 10-7-2 in 2001, tying the program record for the most wins in a season and losing 1-0 in the NEWMAC final to nationally ranked Wheaton College. The team, which could post as many as three freshman starters, enjoyed preseason play in Europe. Injuries permitting, the team expects to contend for the league title.


Coach: Melissa Hart (5th season)

Key Returnees: Rebecca E. Clinton ’03 (D), Sheila E. Saroglou ’03 (D), Ai-ris Yonekura ’05 (D), and Kelli A. Griffin ’03 (MF), Monica F. Morrison ’04 (MF), Shirley Chan ’04 (MF), Lydia A. Helliwell ’05 (MF), Sarah E. Mendelowitz ’03 (F), Joanna M. Natsios ’05 (D), Candace N. Wilson ’04 (F), Connie Yang ’03 (GK)

Top Newcomers: Diana K. Sterk ’06 (MF), Meghan E. O'Kane ’06 (MF), Karen A. Kinnaman ’06 (F/MF), Courtney Rothrock ’06 (D/MF), Juthica B. Mallela ’06 (D/MF)

Outlook: The team posted a program best of 14 victories in the 2001 season and was, for the first time, invited to compete in the Eastern College Athletic Conference New England Division III Tournament. (Lost to Keene State in the semifinals.) The team made it to the NEWMAC semifinal match only to be knocked out by rival Springfield. With NEWMAC All-Stars Morrison, Griffin and Clinton back on the roster, the team looks to again contend for the NEWMAC title and will seek revenge against Springfield.


Coach: Jeff Hamilton (15th season)

Key Returnees: Jeff P. Augustyn ’03, Andrew V. Kolensnikov ’03, Mike H. Ogrydziak ’04, Eric C. Makhni ’05, John G. Bloomsburgh ’03

Top Newcomers: Evan W. Tindell ’06, Vitaliy Pereverzev ’04, Krishna Pokala ’06, Christopher P. Farm ’06

Outlook: Last year MIT finished their season as NEWMAC champs for the fourth straight time and were ranked 23rd in the nation. The team again made it to the NCAA Division III Tournament but were knocked out before the quarterfinal round of play. The 2002 squad should be much improved over last year’s campaign with the addition of a talented group of newcomers. The depth of the singles line-up and three new doubles combinations should make this year’s squad very competitive.



Coach: Carol Matsuzaki (4th season)

Key Returnees: Larisa M. Egloff ’04 , Julie J. Koo ’03, Shima Rayej ’04, Caroline Tien ’04, Jaclyn E.Cichon ’05

Top Newcomers: Jill L. Konowich ’06, Elaine Ni ’06, Natalia M. Arzeno ’06, Sarah E. Nelson ’06, Alexis R. Desieno ’05

Outlook: In 2001, Matsuzaki lead the team to a 7-1 record in the NEWMAC and to 12-5 overall. The team won the NEWMAC Flighted Tournament and finished sixth at the Division III New England Championships. Egloff and Koo competed at the NCAA Division III Championships, only to be defeated by a pair from Trinity University. Matsuzaki was the 2001 NEWMAC Coach of the Year. The team will look to repeat as NEWMAC champs but anticipates close matches against rivals Babson and Wellesley.


Coach: Dwight Smith (23rd season)

Key Returnees: Offense: Alex T. Karnal ’03 (QB), Keith V. Battocchi ’03 (TE), Spencer M. Cross ’05 (OG), Tom J. Kilpatrick ’05 (WR), Phil M. Deutsch ‘’04 (TB/WR) Defense: Lars A. Gronning ’03 (DE), Mark A. Jury ’04 (DT), Dan Lovell ’04 (LB), Brent M. Schreiber ’03 (LB), Brian D. Hoying ’03 (DB), Mark D. Boudreau ’05 (DB), Corey D. Carter ’03 (DB)

Top Newcomers: Matt Ramirez ’06 (K), Ryan J. Lanphere ’06 (FB) , Kevin M. Yurkerwich ’06 (DE), David A. Blau ’06 (DB), Warren Chia ’06 (WR), Benjamin F. Povlich ’05 (C), Dan Relihan ’03 (FB)

Outlook: The team finished 1-8 in 2001 and will struggle with depth and numbers this season. Graduation and injury have changed the lineup significantly. Karnal replaces Deutsch at quarterback while Deutsch moves to tailback. Cross and Povlich lead a solid offensive line. The defensive backfield looks strong and Ramirez will improve MIT’s kicking game. However, the team will have difficulty scoring points until a big-play threat is established.


Coach: Paul Dill (6th season)

Key Returnees: Kelly A. Martens ’03 (MH), Lauren E. Frick ’03 (MH), Jill M. Kaup ‘’03 (MH), Nydia M. Clayton ’04 (OH)

RN: Austin Zimmerman ’06 (S) , Jenny C. Alexander ’06 (S), Joy N. Hart ’06, Caroline D. Jordan ’06, Arlis A. Reynolds ’06, and Jacklyn Y. Wang ’06

Outlook: Last year the team finished with its best record since 1994 (29-9). The team won four tournaments, earned its sixth straight post-season bid and ended their season ranked 6th in the 64-team New England region despite a host of injuries. While graduation severed a strong nucleus of players, the team boasts a talented crop of freshman and will be dangerous in the conference. Though it would be tough to improve on last year's four-week #1 New England region ranking, the Engineers are poised to do just that.


Coach: Cheryl Silva (12th season)

Key Returnees: Courtney R. Esinhart ’03 (D), Kristen A. Quinn ’03 (MF), Heather B. Sites ’03 (MF), Emily W. Brosi ’03 (D), Tiffany A. Kanaga ’04 (GK), Tara Sainith (MF), Kathleen M. Rubritz (GK), Lauren E. Tsai ’04 (F), Ye-Yun Kim ’04 (D)

TN: Deanna M. Lentz ’06 (F), Noelle J. Kanaga ’06 (F), Margaret H. Gentile ’06 (F), Elizabeth C. Godoy ’06 (D), and Cheryl A. Texin ’06 (MF), Amanda C. Smith ’04 (MF), and Anna K. Hirsch ’04 (MF)

Outlook: Last season the women’s field hockey team lost a sour four, of five, overtime matches en route to a 4-11 record. Despite a tough season, Goalkeeper Rubritz garnered 2001 NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honors. The team lost five players to graduation and has already faced some of its strongest competition this season. Currently 0-4, the team will enter their first NEWMAC match up on Sept. 21 when they meet Clark University.

This information was compiled by Helana Kadyszewski.