The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 53.0°F | Thunderstorm Heavy Rain and Breezy

2002 MIT Awards Convocation Recipients

William F. Stewart Jr. Awards

Jovonne J. Bickerstaff ’02, Mendel Chuang ’02, Jaime E. Devereaux ’02, Michael R. Folkert G, Alvar Saenz Otero G, Annie K. Wang ’02

Harold J. Pettegrove Award

Todd S. Stefanik G

Pewter Bowl Award

Caroline M. Purcell ’02

Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award

Yuval Mazor ’02

Betsy Schumacker Award

Princess Imoukhuede ’02

Howard W. Johnson Award

Sean J. Montgomery G

Malcolm G. Kispert Award

Daniel R. Feldman ’02 and Michele C. Verticchio ’02

D. Reid Weedon, Jr. ’41 Alumni/ae Relations Award

Sigma Chi

Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Awards

Rory P. Pheiffer ’02 and Yolanda Fan ’02

Edward L. Horton Fellowship Award

MIT Muslim Students’ Association

Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement in MIT Education

Professor David Lister, Physics Former Vice President and Dean for Research

Frank E. Perkins Award

Professor Rediger Dornbusch, Sloan School of Management

Graduate Student Council Teaching Award

Professor Keith Hampton, School of Architecture and Planning; Professor Kent F. Hansen and Manish Bhardwaj, School of Engineering;

Daniel B. Landau, School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences; Professor Georgia Perakis, Sloan School of Management

Goodwin Medal

Elizabeth A. Kensinger, Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Kristin E. Finnegan Prize

Loren A. King, Ph.D. ’01

Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Professor John G. Brisson II, Mechanical Engineering;

Professor Ernest G. Cravalho, Mechanical Engineering;

Professor Barton Zwiebach, Physics

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

Professor Jesus A. del Alamo, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Arthur C. Smith Award

Professor Linn W. Hobbs, Materials Science & Engineering

John S.W. Kellett ’47 Award

Nils O. Fonstad G

Albert G. Hill Prize

Leonard J. Grant ’02 and Kateri A. Garcia ’03

Ronald E. McNair Scholarship Award

Melissa A. Edoh ’02, Nathan A. Fitzgerald ’02, Ebraheem I. Fontaine ’02, Irfan S. Pirmohamed ’02, Jeannette D. Stephenson ’02, and Huanne T. Thomas ’02

Association of MIT Alumae (AMITA) Senior Academic Award

Alexandra G. Ianculescu ’02;

Honorable Mention: Tiffany S. Santos ’02 and Emily M. Craparo ’02

Patrick J. McGovern ’59 Entrepreneurship Award

MIT $50K Entrepreneurship Competition

Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts

Kevin Q. Choi ’02

Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Awards

Nathan A. Fitzgerald ’02 and Christopher Rakowski ’02

Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize in the Visual Arts

Jacquelyn A. Martino G, Augustine M. Urbas G,

and Cecilia E. Ramos ’05

Honorable Mention: Nicole A. Vlado ’02

Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service

Selam Daniel ’02

James N. Murphy Award

Teresa O’Conner, Residential Life and Student Life Programs

Gordon Y Billard Award

Charlene M. Placido, Assistant Dean for Research;

Albert J. Guarino, Dormitory Housekeeper, Next House;

Steven M. Dimond, Manager, Copy Technology Centers

Laya Wiesner Community Award

Efrat Shavit ’02

Laya W. Wiesner Award

Radha K. Iyengar ’02

Karl Taylor Compton Prizes

Sudeb C. Dalai ’02 and Shunmugavelu D. Sokka G