The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 48.0°F | Partly Cloudy

ASA, DormCon Hold Spring Elections

By Sam Hwang

The Dormitory Council and the Association of Student Activities each held elections for next year’s officers last night. Jennifer S. Yoon ’03 was newly elected ASA president, and Grace Kessenich ’03 won a tight election for DormCon President.

“I was very happy to see so many candidates for the election,” said current ASA President Alvar Saenz Otero G. “We had great candidates running for every single position and I see a very good board for next year.”

“My primary goal is to make sure that the newly elected board members are comfortable with what’s going on,” said Yoon.

Four new members were elected to the ASA executive board at last night’s elections. “We are losing very important members of the executive board who have been integral in making sure the ASA runs smoothly,” Yoon said.

“I hope to see more freshmen active in activities next year since all freshman are required to live on campus,” Yoon said. “MIT is really lucky to have such a huge number of student activities and I want more students to take advantage of all the opportunities.”

Fitzmaurice wins treasurer

Arthur G. Fitzmaurice ’03 was elected to the position of treasurer and Kathryn M. Walter ’05 was elected to the position of secretary. The Student Member at Large for 2002-2003 will be Hiral G. Shah ’03. The Undergraduate Members at Large will be Soojin Lee ’05 and Tao Yue ’04, and the Graduate Members at Large will be Andrew R. Menard G and Anant K. Saraswat G.

New DormCon officers optimistic

DormCon coordinates dormitory events with the administration to help things in dorms run smoothly as well as to keep the administration updated on events going on in the dorms.

“I want to keep on top of the administration changes and the changes at MIT as a whole,” Kessenich said.

Tyler J. Bronder ’03 was elected vice president. He currently serves as treasurer of DormCon as well as president of MacGregor. “DormCon needs to be active in order for the dormitories to be well-represented to the administrators at MIT so that we can accomplish all the goals that we have set for ourselves,” Bronder said.

The other officers elected for next year’s Dormitory Council were Sherri E. Davidoff ’02 (Rush Chair), Ross E. Benson ’03 (Judicial Committee Chair), Ryan D. Williams ’03 (Secretary), Marc A. Soares ’03 (Treasurer), and Emily E. Cofer ’04 (Housing Assignments Chair).

“This year’s election was very close,” said current DormCon President Matthew S. Cain ’02. We had very qualified candidates who are very passionate about their duties on the Council.”