The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 31.0°F | Overcast

Creighton Likely To Be Reinstated

By Brian Loux


The Undergraduate Association Judicial Review Board voted Wednesday night to remove Rhett Creighton ’02 and Margaret V. Stringfellow ’03 from the UA presidential ballot. However, the ticket has acted quickly and will most likely be reinstated on the ballot.

The decision stemmed from a petition sent to the UA Election Commission claiming that Creighton and Stringfellow’s petition for candidacy contained too few signatures to be valid, and that according to the UA constitution, their ticket must be dropped from the ballot. Next House resident Raj S. Dandage ’02 said in an e-mail to mit-talk yesterday night that he in fact filed the complaint.

The ruling said that the commission also holds the right to place them back on the ballot if they attain a sufficient amount of signatures and find that it would not place an undue burden on the election committee. The Election Commission also reserves the right to allow the ticket to participate in debates and other election activities, the Judicial Board ruling stated.

Judicial Board Chair Sandra C. Sandoval ’00 stated that “the initial complaint was that the ticket was put on the ballot unconstitutionally. We looked at the Election Code ... and made a decision that we thought was based on the Constitution and the stipulations of the Election Code. We decided that [the ultimate decision of putting the ticket back on the ballot] rested in the hands of the Election Commission, not Judboard.”

Creighton said that he felt the incident was “a little unnecessary. To resolve the issue, I had to speak to the Election Commission, then [Assistant Dean] Carol Orme-Johnson, then Judboard, then the Election Commission again, who had already made a decision on the matter.” Creighton called the decision of Judboard to give the Election Commission the ruling on the matter a “fair” and “understandable” conclusion to the incident, and added that he was happy to be back on the campaign.

Both presidential/vice presidential tickets of Sanjay K. Rao ’02/Jyoti Agarwal ’03 and Jaime E. Devereaux ’02/Allison L. Neizmik ’02 sent messages to the mit-talk mailing list Thursday morning supporting the retention of the Creighton/Stringfellow ticket on the ballot.

Creighton said that the team has already handed in their new petition with 430 signatures, leaving their readmittance once again up to the Election Commission.