The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 27.0°F | A Few Clouds

Volleyball Ranks 20th

By Roger F. Crosley


* The MIT women’s volleyball team recently won its fourth consecutive tournament by sweeping through the Eastern Connecticut State University Crabtree Invitational. MIT defeated Lasell College, Plymouth State College, Endicott College, Babson College, and the host school in straight sets. Christina Almodovar ’02, MIT’s setter, was named the tournament most valuable player, and was also selected the New England Women’s & Men’s Athletic Conference Player of the Week. Barbara J. Schultze ’02 was named to the All-Tournament team. MIT is currently the top ranked Division III team in New England, and is ranked 20th in the nation in Division III out of 395 volleyball playing schools.

* The MIT women’s cross country team recently captured the Wellesley Invitational for the first time since 1993. Leading the way for the Engineers was Martha W. Buckley ’04, who placed second overall in the meet. For her effort, Buckley was named the NEWMAC Runner of the Week. Buckley covered the 3.2 mile course in 19:32, only two seconds behind the winning runner. Both the MIT women’s team and the MIT men’s team are ranked first in the NEWMAC. The men’s team was the third Division III finisher at the recent All-New England Championships. The Engineers placed 12th overall in the 42 team field, led by Daniel R. Feldman ’02 who finished ninth covering the 5.1 mile course in 24:57. Feldman was the top finisher from a non-Division I college.

* MIT’s Kelli A. Griffin ’03 was named the NEWMAC Co-Player of the Week in women’s soccer for the week ending October 7. Griffin had 13 points during the week leading MIT to three wins in three games. The team currently boasts its best record since 1993.

* The MIT golf team finished third at the recent NEWMAC championship at Holden Hills Country Club. MIT’s Robert R. Desoe ’02 was named to the NEWMAC All-Conference team by virtue of his fifth place finish among all participants.

* In water polo, MIT was unable to defend the Eastern Division III championship, falling to Johns Hopkins University 10-14 in the finals of this year’s tournament. Five Engineers were named to the All-tournament team. First team selections for MIT were James C. Brady ’03 and Peter D. Vanbuskirk ’04. Named to the second team were David D. Lohrey ’05 and Daniel F. Morris ’02, while Devon C. Charlton ’04 was an honorable mention pick.