The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 72.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Sailing Races at Nationals

Successful Season Ends at King’s Point

By Susanna Mierau


Finishing fifth in the Coed New England Dinghy Championships two weeks ago awarded the MIT coed varsity sailing team a chance to compete in the upcoming national championships held at King’s Point, NY June 5-7. Engineers Madhulika Jain ’00, Alan Sun ’00, Erin Shea ’02, and Sean C. Fabre ’00 will raise their sails for MIT one more race.

Nationals comes as no small honor to a team that has been beating Division I schools including Harvard, Dartmouth, BU, and Tufts all season long. MIT has won the Hatch Brown, Prof. Hood, Frank Lane, Rudi Oberg, Mike Horn, and Jack Wood Trophies in the fall and finished second in the Harry Anderson and the Schell Trophy, and fourth in the Atlantic Coast Championships -- all three of which are intersectionals tournaments bringing the top teams all around the nation.

The team’s victory in the Hatch Brown was a remarkable performance for MIT who won both divisions: Fabre and Shea finished first in the A division, an incredible 55 points ahead of Coast Guard and Harvard; Alan Sun and Madhulika Jain won the B division with an equally large margin of 36 points ahead of Harvard and Tufts.

The wind blows well in the Spring

The coed team has continued to perform on the top level with a strong third place finish at the Boston Dinghy Cup, led by team captain Alan Sun and Madhulika Jain who won the B division beating out Harvard by one point. Next, MIT captured the Thompson Trophy at the Coast Guard Academy again led by Sun and Jain who took first in B division this time with nearly a 20 point lead over the next competitor, Old Dominion. The intersectional victory marked the first Thompson Trophy in MIT Sailing history.

The coed team has risen to the highest competitive level through the hard work and dedication that has not only been recognized by MIT - Alan Sun and Madhulika Jain are three-time MVP winners.

Alan Sun was awarded the Senior Trophy by the graduating seniors of the New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association this year. “This prestigious award,” coach Fran Charles writes, “is given to the senior sailor who best demonstrates leadership, sportsmanship and humility both on and off the race course.” In addition, Sun and Jain were nominated to receive the national award for sportsmanship in sailing by the Harvard, Tufts, Connecticut College, and Boston University sailing teams. All four sailors, Sun, Jain, Shea, and Fabre, are candidates for All-American status which will be decided after the national championships.