The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 57.0°F | Overcast

Football Receives Recognition

By Roger Crosley

The honors continue to roll in for members of the MIT football team. Running back Maik C. Flanagin G has been named the winner of the Jerry Nason Award by the New England Football Writers. The Nason award is presented to the senior football player in New England who has persevered against all odds to succeed in football. Flanagin had a malignant tumor removed prior to his junior year in 1997, returned to lead MIT in rushing yards in 1999, and has been named a GTE Academic All-District selection. Flanagin will be presented with the award at the New England Football Writers Annual Captains & Awards Banquet at Lombardo’ in Randolph on Thursday, December 9.

Nikolas O. Kozy ’00 continues to receive awards. The defensive end has been selected for three awards in addition to the GTE Academic All-District selection he recently received. The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston has named Kozy the College Division winner of the Swede Nelson Award as the outstanding football senior scholar-athlete in New England. The Award will be presented at the Gridiron Club’s Annual Banquet on Wednesday, December 8 in Saugus.

Kozy was also honored last week by being named to the New England Football Conference first-team All-Conference team. It was Kozy’s second consecutive selection to the first-team. He also was named winner of the Hal Chalmers Award as the top senior scholar-athlete in the conference. Kozy is a chemical engineering major.

MIT coach Dwight Smith was voted co-Coach of the Year in the New England Football Conference. Smith shares the award with Peter Mazzaferro of Bridgewater State College. Smith has previously won coach of the year honors in both the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference and the New England Collegiate Football Conference.

Other sports news

Cristina Estrada ’01, a center on the basketball team, has been named to the All-Tournament team at the MIT Tip-Off Classic. Estrada had 25 points and 18 rebounds in the two games.

The MIT men’s hockey team is off to a 4-0 start and last week racked up a 5-1 win over arch rival Central Connecticut State University. Gregory W. Donaldson ’00 from had a three-goal hat trick against the Blue Devils, giving the Engineers at least one person scoring a hat trick in each of the first four games of the season.

Wrestler Ivan Aguayo ’00 recently placed third in the 133-pound weight class at the Doug Parker Wrestling Invitational at Springfield College.

The latest collegiate sailing rankings have been released by Sailing World magazine, and MIT’s co-ed team is the sixth-ranked team in the nation. The women’s team is currently rated 14th.

For the second time in her brief MIT career, swimmer Kirstin M. Alberi ’03 has shattered a record --this time in the 100 backstroke. Swimming the first leg of the 400 medley, Alberi finished in 1:00.21. She shattered the previous record of 1:03.08, set by Jennifer D. Navarro ’00 in 1998. The time also qualifies Alberi for Nationals. The women defeated Regis College, 149-108.