The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 28.0°F | A Few Clouds

Women’s Results

By Kathleen G. Vokes

The 34th Head of the Charles, the world’s largest regatta with more than 5,400 athletes competing, saw strong performances from the four MIT women’s crews.

On Saturday, the varsity and junior varsity heavyweights crews raced in the Women’s club eight and the Sloan Crew team raced in the women’s club four. The three mile race course was especially long on Saturday due to a hearty head wind. The first varsity boat took 12th place finishing in a time of 19:17.39 and the junior varsity boat took 49th place in a time of 20:41.18, both crews performing better than last year. The Sloan crew finished 22nd out of 53 in a time of 22:25.13.

The varsity boat raced with women Julie D. Gesch ’00 (coxswain), Jeanne Tomaszweski ’00 (stroke), Audrey Alchin ’00, Alicia Jillian Hardy ’00, Katherine S. Graham ’01, Stephanie E. Chen ’00, Rhonda L. Bush ’00, Elizabeth V. Rose ’00, Emily J. Hanna ’00 (bow) and was right in the thick of the race. In order to avoid crashing the boat had to take a slightly longer course than desirable. Furthermore, through the Week’s footbridge, the crowd was so loud that the crew could not hear their coxswain.

The junior varsity boat raced with Sarah A. Martinez ’02 (coxswain), Senna Kim ’01 (stroke), Kathleen G. Vokes ’00, Sonya H. Blesser ’01, Hillary K. Rolls ’02, Meredith E. Peck ’03, Katherine L. Croff ’00, Danielle S. Smith ’02, Eleanor R. Foltz ’00 (bow) and got off to a slower start than expected, but as the crew started to warm up as the race went on, the speed picked up.

The Sloan team was comprised of Heather MacLean G (coxswain), Shana Sturla G (stroke), Julie Bradley G, Kimberly Locke G, and Sarah Shiochet G (bow).

Lightweights have benefit weather

On Sunday, the varsity lightweights raced in the women’s lightweight eight competition, taking 15th place out of 25 boats with a time of 20:10.67. The lightweights raced with Julie Wyatt ’01 (coxswain), Sneha Madhavan ’00 (stroke), Lisabeth Willey ’02, Michelle Duvall ’03, Megan Galbraith ’01, Katherine Koch ’00, Jennifer Elfalan ’01, Julie Zeskind ’02, Julie Devine ’00 (bow). The conditions on Sunday were pleasant with a light headwind and smooth water.

Though they did not beat their time from last year’s race, the crew recovered from one of the dreaded accidents that all crews fear under the Anderson bridge. Their coxswain took a wider course to give a passing crew room, but the Oregon crew ended up coming too close and as the oars between the two boats clashed, the Tech 3-seat caught an over-the-head crab which forced the MIT crew to come to a complete stop and recover their oar.

The mediocre finish was due to a combination of a slow start, the collision, and a ten second penalty for crossing a buoy.

The women’s team is the largest is has been for at least the past three years and is working toward medaling at the Eastern Sprints this spring.