The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 82.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

Institute Honors Students for Contributions to Community

By Brett Altschul

On May 13, members of the MIT community gathered in room 10-250 to honor those members of the community with outstanding achievements and those who have made significant contributions to Institute life.

The awards, given annually by many groups at the Institute, recognize achievements in service, teaching, athletics, and other areas.

Former Undergraduate Association President Dedric A. Carter '98 presided over the event. He explained the importance of the award recipients to the MIT community. "These people make this community work," he said.

The first awards presented were the William L. Stewart, Jr. Awards, which recognize students and student groups for exceptional extracurricular activities during the year.

Awards went to Duane Dreger '99 for his services as an officer and recently as president of the Interfraternity Council, to Andrew Rhomberg G and Sven Heemeyer G for their work with the MIT European Club, to the Class of 2001 Class Council for exceptional energy in the face of a very adverse situation, and to Michele S. Micheletti '00 posthumously, for her social work while here and the effect her death has had on safety in the Institute community.

Also receiving awards were Adriana T. Guzman G, Anita N. Krishnan '98 and Pooja Shukla '99, Luis A. Ortiz G, and William W. Shen '98.

The Harold J. Pettegrove Award recognizes outstanding service to intramural athletics. It went to Stephanie Ann Harrington G.

The Pewter Bowl Award honors a female senior who has shown leadership in women's athletics. The award went to Susan A. Dey '98.

The Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award went to Joseph B. Irineo '98. It honors the male senior who has demonstrated the most leadership in athletics.

The Betsy Schumacker Award, for a woman demonstrating excellence in athletic competition, went to Tracey C. Ho '99, the women's national pistol champion.

The Howard W. Johnson Award is presented to the male senior athlete of the year. It went to Michael T. Butville '98.

The Malcolm G. Kispert Awards honors male and female senior scholar-athletes of the year. The recipients were Robert B. Gray '98 and Nicole D. Gerrish '98.

The James R. Killian, Jr. Community Service Award honors the IFC member organization with the strongest community service program. It went to Phi Delta Theta.

The Order of Omega New Member Education Award also went to Phi Delta Theta for the best new member program in the IFC.

The Reid Weedon '41 Alumni Relations Award for the relations of an IFC member organization with its alumni went to Delta Upsilon.

The Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Awards honor male and female members of IFC member organizations for exceptional service in the spirit of the Greek system. The recipients were Jamie Buller '99 and Norris Vivatrat '99.

The Edward L. Horton Fellowship Award for fostering fellowship in the graduate student community went to the Black Graduate Student Association.

The Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement in MIT Education honored the Beijing Project, organized by the Department of Architecture.

The Frank E. Perkins Award honors professors for their services as graduate student mentors and advisers. The recipients were Professor of Biology Frank Solomon and Lecturer in Civil and Environmental Engineering E. Eric Adams.

The Graduate Student Council Teaching Awards honor one professor from each school and possibly teaching assistants as well. They went to Professors Robert S. Gibbons, KennethA. Oye, Gregory W. Wornell, Meenu Tewari and Scott Virgil. Graduate students Suhas Tripathi G and Freddi-Jo Eisenberg G were also named as recipients.

The newly-resurrected Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching went to Assistant Professor of Biology Stephen P. Bell.

The Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching, which annually honors an engineering professor, went to Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics John R. Hansman, Jr PhD '82.

The second year of the Arthur C. Smith Award for devotion to undergraduate student life saw Professor of Toxicology John M. Essigman PhD '76 honored.

The Kristen E Finnegan Prize honors graduate students for service in improving undergraduate writing. It went to Cherie M. Abbanaat G and Rebecca M. Herzig G.

The Albert G. Hill Prize is an award which goes to minority juniors and seniors who have maintained high academic and community service standards. The prize went to Fabio Brunet '98 and Maisha K. Gray '99.

The Laya W. Wiesner Award honors an undergraduate woman for contributions to MIT community life. This year, that woman was Michelle L. Evans '99.

The Association of MIT Alumnae Award is presented to outstanding female seniors female in academics and professional activities. It went to Lisa A. Poyneer '98 and Tiffany P. Cunningham '98.

The Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts honored Stephen G. Tistaert '98 for outstanding artistic proficiency as a graduating senior.

The Laya and Jerome Wiesner Awards went to Kevin A. Simmons '98 and Elaine Chew G for outstanding achievements in the creative or performing arts.

The Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize in the Visual Arts recognizes MIT students for creating an outstanding body of work in the visual arts. This years recipients were Eto S. Otitigbe '99 and Kim Y. Eng '99.

The Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service was awarded for the first time this year. It honors an undergraduate for devotion to public service and social change. The first recipient was Michael M. Bryzek '98.

The Gordon Y. Billard Award honors employees of MIT or people not associated with the Institute for services to MIT. The award went to Campus Police Sergeant Cheryl N. deJong-Vossmer and Ronald Parker.

The James N. Murphy Award goes to MIT employees who won places in the hearts of students. It went to Cathryn J. Baty and Jacinto Figueiredo.

The Karl Taylor Compton Prizes honor students or student groups for extended service to the MIT community, promoting service and high standards. The are the highest award given by MIT to students.

Geoffrey J. Coram G won one for his exceptional service to the GSC, including serving as its president. Iddo Gilon '98 and Jorge F. Rodriguez '98 shared one for their work as president and rush chair for the IFC. Jacob J. Seid G won the last prize, for his services in student activities, particularly the recent creation of the online Feedback Forum.