The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 62.0°F | A Few Clouds

New IFC Officers To Focus on Image

Indranath Neogy -- The Tech
Duane H. Dreger '99 (center), newly elected Interfraternity Council president, is flanked by fellow incoming officers Amir A. Mesarwi '00 and Dennis S. Ruhl '00 (left) and Bob Broderick '99 and Lisa E. Tatterson '99 (right).

By Jennifer Lane
Editor in Chief

A fresh crop of Interfraternity Council officers are preparing to make 1998 a year to nurse the fraternity system's injured public image while initiating new programs and fine-tuning their as yet untested alcohol policies.

Duane H. Dreger '99, a member of Sigma Nu, was elected IFC president at the presidents council meeting Wednesday, and emphasized the need to "let everyone know that we're an integral part of the community."

Students and other members of the Institute community hold misconceptions of the IFC as well as fraternity and sorority life, Dreger said. Over the course of the next year, the IFCwill work to build up a larger sense of community and "educate everyone around us about what we do," he said.

In terms of alcohol policy, Dreger will focus on forming a certification program to work in concert with the new alcohol policies recently approved by the IFC's presidents council that restricts the use of alcohol to certified houses.

Developing this certification program will involve collaboration with other offices around the Institute. Additionally, the current IFCalcohol policies are new, largely unimplemented and "may need some tweaking," Dreger said.

Dreger will work closely with the two new IFC vice presidents. Vice President for Activities and Organization Margaret C. Tsai '99 and Vice President for Internal Affairs Bob Broderick '99 will oversee IFC committees ranging from community relations to programs for freshmen. Tsai is a member of Kappa Alpha Theta and Broderick is a member of Zeta Psi.

"We have an unprecedented amount of work cut out for us," Broderick said. The IFC has said that changes will be made, and the next year will be the time to implement those changes, he said.

Broderick said he hoped to focus on making education an IFCpriority, as well as developing a stronger communications channel for the parents of students in the fraternity, sorority and independent living group system. "It's important to give parents someone to turn to," he said.

IFCfocuses on larger community

Amir A. Mesarwi '00, a member of Phi Delta Theta, will head up the community relations committee next year. Mesarwi will work to better the image of MITfraternities in the eyes of their Boston and Cambridge neighbors.

By taking a more active role in the community through service projects and other activities, the surrounding cities will be able to "see that fraternities and sororities are not only about stereotypes," Mesarwi said.

Dennis S. Ruhl '00, a member of Phi Kappa Theta, was elected IFCrisk manager. The office involves coordinating and acting as a resource for individual houses' risk management officers.

Ruhl will be closely involved in organizing alcohol educational programs, highly in demand at the Institute after several alcohol-related incidents this semester, including the death of Scott S. Krueger '01. "I'd like to try to prevent these incidents from happening anymore," Ruhl said.

Others elected to new positions

Enid W. Choi '00, a member of Kappa Alpha Theta, is the incoming IFC treasurer, and Lisa E. Tatterson '99, a member of Alpha Chi Omega, is the incoming secretary.

Katherine E. Hardacre '99, a member of No. 6 Club, was elected chair of the IFC judicial committee. Christopher R. Rezek '99, a member of Alpha Delta Phi, was elected head of the publicity relations committee, and Hongsup Park '99, a member of Phi Kappa Theta, will be next year's rush chair.