The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 35.0°F | A Few Clouds

Women Harriers Take 4th in NEW8

By Janis Eisenberg
Team Member

On Saturday, the women's cross country team ran in the NEW 8 Championship, their final race of the regular season. MIT placed fourth, with 91 points, behind Smith College, 51, Wellesley College, 62, and Wheaton College, 78. Additionally, two MIT runners placed in the top ten, earning All-Conference honors. Debbie Won '00 had an excellent race, finishing second. Her time was 18:04, a personal best. Janis Eisenberg '98 was fifth, (18:33).

The event was hosted by WPI, and the race was held in a park near their school. The somewhat repetitive course consisted of loops on grass and sidewalks. MIT had an advantage over most of the other teams, having raced there earlier in the season.

Many MIT runners ran impressive times, which were improvements over their previous performances on the course. Shue-fen Tung '00 placed 18th, finishing in 19:18. Robin Evans '99 had a great race, breaking the 20 minute mark, by finishing in 19:56 in 30th place. Jantrue Ting '00 wasn't far behind, in 37th place with a time of 20:10. Patricia Diaz '00 ran by far her best race of the season, with a time of 20:29, which was good for 44th place. Tanya Zelevinsky '99 finished right on her heels, in 20:34 for 47th place. The next MIT runner to finish was Melanie Harris '01, in 55th (20:56).

Overall, coach Joe Sousa said he was pleased with the day's results, noting the competitiveness of the other teams in the league.

The varsity members of the team will go on to run in the Division III National Qualifiers at the University of Southern Maine on Nov. 15.