The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 44.0°F | Overcast

Varsity Heavyweights Crews Dominate N.H. Championship

By Karl Richter
Team Member

The varsity heavyweight crew squad won both the Open Eight and the Open Four events at the New Hampshire Championship Regatta last Saturday. The MIT women also won the Open Four and placed second in the Open Eight. The regatta, held on the Merrimack River in Hookset, N.H., was a first racing opportunity for most of the freshman men and the second race of the year for the women's crews.

While the mostly Division II and III schools competing in the regatta proved to be good competition for the freshman crews, the varsity squads used the day as a rehearsal to prepare for this weekend's Head of the Charles Regatta (see box).

In the men's Open Eight race, the first varsity heavyweights (17:57.8) easily pulled away from the rest of the field to clobber second place finisher Colby College (18:24.7) by nearly 30 seconds over the three-mile course. Another Colby boat finished third (18:28.6), followed by two MIT varsity lightweight crews in fourth and fifth (18:39.0 and 18:44.5). Bates, the MIT heavyweight junior varsity, St. Anselem's, and UMass trailed. The heavyweight first boat included Shane Wu '99, Solar Olugebefola '99, Mike Salamina '00, Matt Coates '98, Mike Perry '99, Karsten Kallevig '99, Karl Richter '99, Dan Parker '99, and Jen Lykens '99 (cox).

The top Beaver Eight has improved dramatically since racing to a second place finish at the Head of the Ohio last weekend. The same lineup will be racing Sunday in the Championship Eight event at the Head of the Charles, competing against the world champion United States National Team, the Canadian National Team, and top Division I colleges.

The MIT heavyweights also won gold in the men's Open Four category. The Beavers (21:02.7) beat Franklin Pierce (21:04.7), Colby College (21:11.1), two other MIT Fours, Bates College, Assumption College, and Bowdoin College. The winning four included Mark Jhon '01, Jim Morash '01, Salamina, Coates, and John O'Quin G (cox). The boat combined two promising freshmen and two from the MIT first varsity eight.

In the men's Freshman Eight event, MIT's novice heavyweights finished third, while the novice lightweights finished fourth behind crews from Colby and Bates. The freshman squads will soon benefit from the return of the experienced freshman rowers who have been practicing and racing in varsity heavyweight and lightweight boats.

Women's Eight gets second

The women fared almost as well as the men at New Hampshire. The women's Varsity Eight - Stephanie Chen '00, Peggy Hollermann '00, Liz Rose '00, Jessi Kleiss '00, Jeanne Tomaszewski '00, Samantha Lavery '98, Kathleen Vokes '00, Wendy Liu '00, and Rainuka Gupta '99 (cox) - brought home silver medals, taking second place to a fast Bates crew in the Open Eight event. MIT covered the three-mile course in 20:55.

The three varsity Open Fours were even more successful with the first boat - Mariah Luff '99, Susan Dey '98, Kristin Jugenheimer '99, Heidi Chang '98 and Margo Harbaugh '98 (cox) - winning the race in 23:12.

The second MIT four - Zoe Teegarden '98, Katherine Koch '00, Emily Hanna '00, Katy Croff '00, and Betty Tsai '99 (cox) - finished third in 24:13. The third MIT four - Vokes, Bani Azari '00, Lorri Bush, Sneha Madhavan '00, and Julie Wertz '00 (cox) - came in seventh in a time of 25:20. The three women's Novice Eights enjoyed respectable finishes in what was the second race ever for most of the rowers and finished fifth, sixth and 10th out of a total of 15 crews.

Varsity women's captain Susan Dey contributed to the reporting in this article.