The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 57.0°F | Overcast

Departments Give Awards for Research, Teaching, Work

By Zareena J. Hussain
Associate News Editor

As the year draws to a close, departments often try to recognize students who have made significant contributions in research, academics, and service. The Tech received the following information from Departments about the awards they presented.

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Richard Lee Russel Award:Phoebe J. Lam '97, Christopher J. Marx '97, Laurel A. Schaider '97

Steinberg Prize:Christina A. Marsh '97

Mechanical Engineering

Carl G. Sontheimer Prize: Matthew B. Wall '89 and Kevin L. Wasson

Department Service Award: Stacy J. Morris G, Liv Galendez

Reinhold Rudenberg Memorial Prize: Peter Kassakian

Meredith Kamm Memorial Award:Julie A. Yang G

Luis de Florez Award:Neeta Verma

AMPInc. Award:Euree Y. Kim G, Joseph A. Calzaretta G

Whitelaw Prize:Nathaniel Riley '98, Kirk P. Seward '98

ASMEStudent Service Award:Neeta Verma

Wunsch foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Awards:Fabio Brunet '98, Diana M. Sanchez '97, Ania W. Mierzejewska '98, Troy C. Thorson '98, Mads C. Schmidt '98, Denzil Vaughn, Keith G. Fife '98 (with Annabel Florez, Adrian Gomez '99, Laura A. Montalvo '99, Lizabeth A. Montalvo '99, Dennis Rivera '99)


Undergraduate Teaching Award:Federico Bernal '97, Hisham O. Eissa '97, Lily Huang '97

Undergraduate Service Award:Raylene J. Sanchez '97

Merck Index Award:Anna E. Lee '97, Doris Lin '97, Srivatsan Raghavan '97

Hypercube Scholar Award:Zoltan Maliga

American Institute of Chemists FoundationAward:Lillian T. Chong '97

Undergraduate Research Award:Lillian T. Chong '97, Jennifer J.Sokol '97

Alpha Chi Sigma Award:JenniferJ. Sokol '97, Junko Tamiya '97


Ned Holt Prize: Sarah B. Tegen '97

Salvador E. Luria Prize: Sophie C. Currier '97

Whitehead Prize: Avital A. Rodal '97

John L. Asinari Award: Rachel F. Fezzie '97 and Mala Murthy '97

Political Science

Jeffrey L. Pressman Awards:Sarah E. Anderson '99, Eugene Lee '98, Elizabeth C. Schofield '98

Outstanding Thesis:Michael A. Usowski '97


Jon A. Bucsela Prize:Pramod N. Achar '97 and Aleksey Zinger '97

Housman Award: Ioanid Rosu G

Jennifer C. Johnson Prize: Andras Vasy G