The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 64.0°F | Rain Fog/Mist and Breezy

Athletes Finish Year with Many Awards and Honors

By Roger Crosley
Sports Information Director

MIT's two number one tennis players have been named the East Region Rookies of the Year. From the women's team, Mealani Nakamura '00 was named. Nakamura dropped a first round match at the Women's Division III nationals. On the men's side Eric Chen '00 was honored. Both players are first year students.

Merrilees' achievements honored

Field hockey player Katherine Merrilees '97 was named the winner of the Massachusetts Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women's Achievement Award. Merrilees is a two time All-America selection and a two time player of the year in the New England Women's 8 Conference. Merrilees was honored at the MAIAW's annual meeting at Brandeis University.

Runners make NCAA's

Chris McGuire '00 and Mike Parkins '99 each won distance events at the New England Division III Championships. McGuire won the 5,000 meters and in the process qualified for the NCAA Championships held Memorial Day weekend in LaCrosse, WI. Parkins won the 3,000 meter steeplechase, and had previously qualified for the NCAA's. As a team, the Engineers finished third behind Williams College and Springfield College.

John Wallberg G has been named to the GTE College Sports Information Directors of America Spring At-Large All-District first team. Wallberg, the NCAA Division III national champion in the 35 pound weight throw, now appears on the national Academic All-America Spring At-Large ballot.

Baseball players honored

The Constitution Athletic Conference recently named its baseball All-Conference team and three MIT players were honored. Pitcher Will Nielsen '98 was named to the first team for the second consecutive year. Nielsen ran up a 31 conference record with an earned run average of 2.06.

Named to the second team were first baseman Joel Morales '99 who hit .348 with 7 doubles in conference play, and centerfielder Steve Vetere '97 who swung the bat at a .367 clip.

Water polo players honored

Four MIT water polo players have been named to the American Water Polo Coaches Association Men's All-Academic Team. Named to the Superior level were seniors Matt Lau '97 and Milos Komarcevic '99. The "excellent" level showcased Mark Lebovitz '98, and Adrian Gomez '99.

Barber earns All-Conference

In the Pilgrim Lacrosse League defenseman Tom Barber '97 of MIT was an All-Conference selection for the second consecutive year. Barber was also tapped to participate in the Annual New England East-West Senior All-Star Game which was held May 10-11 at the University of New Hampshire.

Coach participates at NCAAclinic

MIT women's gymnastics coach Eduardo Ovalle recently participated as a clinician at the National Collegiate Athletic Association Youth Education through Sports program at the NCAA women's Gymnastics National Championships. The clinic was held at the University of Florida.

Sports information honored

MIT Sports Information Director Roger Crosley was named the winner of the College Division Irving T. Marsh Award by the Eastern College Athletic Conference-Sports Information Directors Association. The Marsh Award is given annually to an ECAC-SIDA member for contributions and dedication to and excellence in, the field of collegiate sports information. Crosley will receive the award at the ECAC-SIDA workshop in Uniondale, NY, in June.

Women row well at NCAA's

The MIT women's varsity four plus coxswain placed sixth at the inaugural NCAA Championships for women. Sixteen crews qualified for the championships which were held at Sacremento State College.

Runners receive academic honors

The NCAA Division III Cross Country Coaches Association named its national scholar athlete team and individual performers and MIT runners are prominently featured. In the men's ranking MIT ranked third nationally with an overall grade point average of 4.5/5.0, while the women are ranked sixth among women's squads with a cumulative 4.65/5.0

Individual honorees for the men are Arnold Seto G, Dan Helgesen '97, and Josh Feldman '97. Four women qualified for the team led by Lauren Klatsky '97. Others named were Janis Eisenberg '98, and sophomores Robin Evans '99 and Tanya Zelevinsky '99.

MIT players on SAE All-America

MIT placed three football players on the Sigma Alpha Epsilon All-America Football Team. Fullback Troy Gayeski '98, was the only selection on the offensive side of the ball. On defense are tackle Chris Yanney '97 and safety Duane Stevens '98.