The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 64.0°F | A Few Clouds

Men's X-C Wins Conference Title

By Sohail Husain
Team Member

This Saturday the men's cross-country team played host to the rest of the Constitution Athletic Conference at the CAC championship meet.

The Engineers seemed to be less than gracious hosts as they ran away with their seventh consecutive conference title, leaving nothing but dust for the rest of the seven-team field.

MIT took advantage of the clear skies and familiar course by grabbing control of the race in the first mile and never giving up the lead. In the end, the Engineers' dominance was clear as they ended the meet with 30 points - well ahead of the United States Coast Guard Academy and Springfield College, which tied for second place with 55 apiece.

Arnold Seto G topped the field of runners, covering the 5-mile course in 25:44. Joining him in the top ten to earn all Conference honors were Josh Feldman '97 in a time of 26:06, Michael Parkins '99 in 26:09, and freshman superstar Chris McGuire '00 in 26:17. With his time, McGuire easily won the Rookie of the Year award.

Rounding out the varsity team were Dan Helgesen '97 in 26:45, Lief Seed '99 in 26:58, and freshman sensation Gabe White '00 in 27:02.

Junior varsity captures win

The junior varsity harriers had no trouble capturing their victory either, crushing the other JV competitors and beating most of the other varsity teams in the process.

Sohail Husain '98 and Frank Johnston '00 finished in the top 20 right on the tails of the varsity team with 27:14 and 27:24, respectively. Gerry Corona '97 was close behind in 27:51 while David Kelman '99 and Henry Hwu '98 rounded out the JV scorers with times of 28:38 and 28:53, respectively.

The team now has a week off before heading to the NCAANational Qualifier meet this Saturday at Westfield State College where the Engineers will race against two-time defending national champion Williams College and other schools for a trip to the Division III National Championships on Nov. 16.