The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 63.0°F | Partly Cloudy

Awards Ceremony Recognizes Outstanding in MIT Community

By Venkatesh Satish
Contributing Editor

Outstanding students, faculty, staff, and organizations were paid recognition at the 1996 Awards Convocation, which was held in 10-250 before an audience of 150 people yesterday afternoon.

John S. Hollywood '96 was the sole recipient of this year's Karl Taylor Compton Prize. The Compton Prize, the Institute's highest award, is presented to students "in recognition of outstanding contributions in promoting high standards of achievement and good citizenship within the MIT community," according to the program distributed in the convocation.

Hollywood specifically received the award for his efforts in turning out the Institvte electronic newsletter, his involvement with the Student Affairs Committee, and the Undergraduate Association Student Loan Committee.

Seven recognized for involvement

Seven students received the William L. Stewart, Jr. awards which are presented to students "who have made outstanding contributions to extracurricular activities and events" at the Institute.

The awards were presented by Andrew M. Eisenmann, associate dean for undergraduate education and student affairs.

Anthony J. Ives '96 "demonstrated a compassion for fellow students and for others," in planning the "Alternative Spring Break" during which he and 25 others volunteered to teach inner-city youth in Washington, D.C., Eisenmann said.

Joseph M. Lee '97 was given the award for his "great success" in initiating and organizing the Interfraternity Council's new member retreat, Eisenmann said.

Carlos I. Gutierrez '96 was recognized for bringing "energy, class, and enthusiasm" to Club Mex, which is the Mexican students' association, Eisenmann said.

Berdell Knowles, Jr. received the award for his leadership as president of the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, as well as his involvement in the Black Students' Union, the National Society of Black Engineers, and Office of Minority Education, Eisenmann said.

Albert L. Hsu '96 was recognized for his "tireless efforts" to keep the Baker House Dining Hall open. Hsu "spearheaded a successful effort" to meet this goal, Eisenmann said.

Dhaya Lakshminarayanan '96 was given the Stewart award in recognition of her efforts as the President of East Campus and being the President of the Dormitory Council, Eisenmann said.

Shruti Sehra '96 was recognized for her development and implementation of the Panhellenic Association's community service projects, as well as her participation in LINKS.

Professors receive Baker award

The Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching was given to two professors "in recognition of exceptional interest and ability in the instruction of undergraduates."

The awards were presented by Chair of the Baker Memorial Foundation Samir Thadani '96.

Women's Tennis coach Candace L. Royer, who is also the associate professor in the athletics department, "has had an incredible impact on her students, as an educator, as a tennis coach, and as a human being," Thadani said.

Janet Sonenberg, assistant professor in Music and Theater Arts section of the humanities department, was presented the award for "always making time for her students, helping them develop a passion for life," Thadani said.

Yaron Koren contributed to the reporting of this story.