The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 70.0°F | Fog/Mist

NAE Honors 11 Faculty and Alumni with Membership

By Ramy A. Arnaout
Executive Editor

The National Academy of Engineering last month announced the election of 77 new members, 11 of whom are Institute faculty or alumni.

The appointments honor outstanding engineers for important or pioneering work in the theory or practice of engineering.

The new members were pleased with their election. "I was surprised and behumbled it's an honor," said Professor of Engineering Arthur B. Baggeroer '68. Baggeroer's work has involved the application of signal processing to ocean acoustics.

Those sentiments were echoed by Professor of Mechanical Engineering Richard H. Lyon, another new member.

"I'm extremely pleased," he said.

However, "any time you get that honor it makes you feel how many of your colleagues are just as good," but don't get elected, so that pleasure is tempered a bit, he said.

Appointment to an organization like NAE "helps the profession and gives a student a reason to become an engineer," said Lyon, whose work has also dealt with acoustics.

"I'm pleased," said another new member Professor of Engineering Thomas B. Sheridan '59. "You can't really expect" to receive the honor, he said.

Most of the faculty chosen have served on federal advisory committees before, and expect to continue an advisory role in various capacities as members of the NAE.

Also elected from the faculty were Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics Edward M. Greitzer, Professor of Ocean Engineering Jerome H. Milgram PhD '61, and Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science William F. Schreiber.

Established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences, the NAE's principal role is to advise the federal government on questions of science and technology.

The NAE also recognizes distinguished engineers and encourages education and research.

Five other alumni elected

"MIT is a special place for things like" the NAE, said Ralph L. Keeney '69, a professor of systems management at the University of Southern California who was one of eight alumni to be elected to the Academy this year.

New member Robert W. Deutsch '48, president of the Maryland RWD Technologies Inc., agreed.

"MIT helped me quite a bit" careerwise, he said. "I felt very good about" receiving the honor, he added.

Other alumni elected are Wilbur L. Pritchard '52, Bernard Widrow '51, and Kanianthra M. Chandy '69.