The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 42.0°F | Mostly Cloudy

New IFC Officers Emphasize Unity

By Joanna Garelick

Many of the new officers in the Interfraternity Council and Panhellenic Association are returning, experienced members.

New officers, who were chosen for both bodies in elections last December, took office this month.

Jason D. Pride '97 and Laura L. DePaoli '97 will head IFC and Panhel as presidents after serving previously in top leadership posts in the organizations.

"This year, IFC hopes to educate the Greek and MIT community to a point where discriminatory actions do not occur," Pride said, referring to a history and perception of problems involving members of the Greek community.

DePaoli wants to bring together the groups within Panhel, and to also integrate them with other groups around campus.

The IFC represents all fraternities, sororities, and independent living groups. Panhel specifically represents MIT's five sororities, including two residential sororities.

Inclusiveness a goal

DePaoli and Pride want to publicize that certain IFC and Panhel events like the Greek Week Ball are "meant for all, not just Greeks," she said.

Pride said he realized it would be impossible to force groups who dislike each other to come together in uncomfortable situations. However, groups will be encouraged to hold events like mixers, parties, and even formals together, he said.

Also, community service will be emphasized more than it has been in the past. It is DePaoli's hope that the sororities will participate in both community service and social activities together.

The IFC will again hold their pledge retreat, conduct Greek Week, and carry out the Pledge Minimum Standards Program, which requires pledges to have open discussions about diversity, sexual harassment, drugs, and alcohol.

DePaoli is also working to make next fall's rush extremely successful, hoping that "all women who go through rush have a positive feeling about Panhel."

IFC vice president post split

Iddo Gilon '98 and Jorge F. Rodriguez '98 will serve as co-vice presidents of the IFC after sharing the public relations chair last year.

Other new IFCofficers include:Joseph M. Lee '97 as rush chair, Jennifer Yang '97 as treasurer, Daniel B. Plotnick '98 as secretary, James W. Harmon '98 as risk management chair, Christopher G. Rodarte '97 as IFCJudicial Committee chair, David C. Naffziger '98 as relations chair, and Duan H. Dreger '99 as community service chair.

Since much of the board has served on the IFC before, they are "not going to have many problems with transition," Pride said. "They're just going to have to adapt to new positions."

The positions on the IFC Executive Board and IFCJudcomm are elected by the presidents of all fraternities, sororities, and independent living groups.

This will be the first year that the position of vice president is shared by two people. Gilon and Rodriguez ran together because "they see the role of the vice president becoming larger," and therefore decided to split the duties in terms of internal and external responsibilities, said Neal H. Dorow, assistant dean and adviser to FSILGs.

The two will work out exactly how the responsibilities will be split. However, until the IFC constitution is amended, the two count as one vote on the executive board.

Panhel rotation ensures equality

As with the IFC, this year's vice Panhel president position was split into two positions. Executive Vice President Julie J. Muyco '98 takes charge of the newly formed Panhellenic Cabinet and will handle event programming.

Vice President of Panhellenic Rush Shirley H. Hung '98 is in charge of the Junior Panhellenic Conference, rush counselors, and the Panhel Judiciary Committee, which handles rush violations.

Jamie A. Buller '99 and Shirley S. Mihardja '99 were elected treasurer and secretary, respectively.

The five top Panhel positions rotate among the five sororities to guarantee representation to all Panhel groups. The new rush chair, Wanda A. Chin '97, was selected from the three sororities that do not hold positions of president and vice president this year.

Any Panhel member can run for the remaining positions. Other newly elected officers are:Michelle J. Berris '99 as community service chair, Stacy A. Williams '99 as social chair, Hannah Meehan '99 as housing chair, and Orli G. Bachall '99, and Lisa E. Tatterson '99 as community service co-chairs.