The Tech - Online EditionMIT's oldest and largest
newspaper & the first
newspaper published
on the web
Boston Weather: 79.0°F | Overcast

Campus Pick: Student composer and soloist collaborate with MITSO

Douglas R. Abrams '96 will perform Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 2 this Saturday in Kresge Auditorium.


MIT Symphony Orchestra.

Works by Brahms, Jos L Elizondo Cecenas '95, and Beethoven.

Directed by David Epstein.

Featuring Douglas R. Abrams `96, piano.

Kresge Auditorium, 8:30 p.m.

By Craig K. Chang
Arts Editor

Often the most exciting aspect of attending a performance of the MIT Symphony Orchestra is envying the talent of fellow students. This Saturday, in its second performance of the semester, the MIT Symphony Orchestra will feature both student composers and soloists. Besides performing the Brahms Symphony No. 1 under the direction of David Epstein, the orchestra will also premiere Estampas Mexicanas by Jose L. Elizondo Cecenas '95. Douglas R. Abrams '96, who plays from both the jazz and classical repertoire, will perform with the orchestra Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 2. He was one of the winners of last year's Spring Concerto competition.